NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Skagway, Alaska or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Yukon Territory Scenic Drive

<!--break--> <p>Take a scenic drive up the spectacular Klondike Highway and into Canada’s historic and beautiful Yukon Territory. Your mountain guide and mini bus with big windows will transport you up the original White Pass “Trail of ’98.” Along the way, you’ll be greeted by the rugged expanse of land that both Infuriated and enchanted gold seekers over 100 years ago. Pass waterfalls, glaciers, and peaks before crossing the mountain cradling the 3,292 ft. summit and following a jewel-like string of lakes that feed the Yukon River.</p> <br> <p>In the Yukon, you’ll visit the village of Carcross. Rich in history, you’ll be charmed by its picturesque log cabins, hotel and General Store. Further north, see the “smallest desert in the world,” and then continue to Emerald Lake, truly a gem in its green valley setting. Lunch is a home-style affair at the Spirit Lake Lodge, famous throughout the Yukon for its wonderful pies. You’ll then return to Skagway with plenty of time left for exploring the historic downtown or shopping. </p> <br> <p> <strong>Note: </strong>This excursion enters Canada, all participants are required to carry a valid passport.</p>
Average:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Review 1 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Canada and New England
Date:June 28, 2016
Amazing Tour
This was the best tour!! Pete, our guide, was such an excellent story teller - he made the history of the places we visited come to life. He is an amazing historian and naturalist! I learned more about Skagway and the Yukon Territory from Pete than I ever did in school. You can tell the love he has for this wild beautiful country. He interspersed stories of his life in the region - which made you understand just how hard it can be to live there. We were able to stop and get out to take pictures and truly appreciate the beauty of the land - something you can't do on the train tour. Plus you go further into the Yukon Territory than you are able to on the train. The beauty of this region is breathtaking and I'm so glad we were able to see it "freestyle" with no rushing around. We stopped for lunch at a wonderful rustic little cafe way out in the middle of nowhere. They served us a simple but great lunch of sandwiches, soup (so good!!) and apple pie (yum!) The owners were so nice and accommodating. Of all the excursions we have taken - this is the one we love the most.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:June 28, 2016
Loved the History Lesson
We thought about taking the Jeep excursion where you could drive yourself, I'm so happy that we did this instead! Our driver, Doug, was the best part of the excursion. He told the history of Alaska and was very informative about modern day Alaska, as well. You could tell that he loves his job and sharing Alaskan life (past and present). If you have him as your driver, you are in for a treat. If you're a history buff, even better!
The lunch of soup, salad, sandwiches and dessert was ready when we got there and they accommodate all types of food allergies and preferences. The bread was amazing! You will not leave hungry.
We stopped for pictures at terrific scenic spots along the way and I enjoyed our short visit in the little town of Carcross.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:June 23, 2016
Yukon Here We Come!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This trip was pretty good because we like the outdoors. Our tour director and driver was knowledgeable about the area but he intermixed his personal current life/story which was not so interesting. Would like more facts and also more structure for example, 'we will stop here for 10 minutes' not leave it up to when everyone returns to the shuttle. We felt like the driver was just checking off the stops he needed to make....... The lunch was pretty bad, and the silk flowers at the place could be deep six! The desert was interesting and the scenery was spectacular, and we did see a black bear, but you can see the samet on the narrow gauge RR ride which we liked better.
Review 4 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Date:May 23, 2016
An Amazing Experience
Would highly recommend this excursion. We had also looked into booking the White Pass Railroad excursion, but after reading all of the positive reviews here we decided to book the Yukon Territory Scenic Drive instead.
After our experience, we were so glad that we chose this excursion and not the train, this excursion goes a lot further than the train does and we ended up seeing so much more! A few people that went on the train had high hopes of seeing wildlife, but mentioned that they only saw a bird or two.
Our guide Pete was great! Very knowledgeable and full of stories. We stopped many times along the way for photos and wildlife. During our excursion we saw: seven bears, mountain goats/sheep, caribou and a fox. In addition, Emerald Lake is a must see!
Unfortunately, our bus had radiator problems and broke down on the side of the road. We had to wait about an hour and a half for another bus to come from Skagway. During this time, Pete took the group on a nature hike and shared more stories about the area. He did a great job keeping everyone engaged while waiting for another bus.
After the excursion is over, you have the option of being dropped off at your ship or in town. We decided to explore the town before getting back on the ship and had plenty of time even with our bus mishap. Keep in mind, it is only a short walk from town to the ship.
If we ever take another Alaskan cruise, we would definitely book this excursion again!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Oranjestad, Aruba
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:May 21, 2016
Excellent adventure!
While in Skagway for the second time we had to choose between the railroad or this tour. We are so glad we did this tour. Our tour guide was Peter and he was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny! You ride on a mini bus with approximately 20 people. The mini bus was new and the windows are very large and clean. Unlike the train we were able to stop whenever we saw wildlife. Peter just pulled over when someone spotted an animal. We ended up in Carcross and had a delicious lunch. Emerald lake is beautiful! You don't have to walk a lot so this is a great excursion for any age. It is nice to take a tour that is beautiful but you also learn the history of the area at the same time. We would highly recommend this tour!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Educational
Date:September 2, 2015
Great trip
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Wonderful scenic drive up to Yukon, we stopped for incredible scenery opportunities. Each new area was as spectacular as the last. Could not recommend more highly
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2015
Our favourite tour
We went on this tour with Lenny who was very knowledgeable. He stopped the bus several times for photo ops and was a fountain of information. The scenery was beautiful and I loved Emerald Lake. Lunch at the Spirit Lodge was sandwiches and pie and lots of it. With a short stop in Carcross and the desert, it was just the right length of time. We got off the bus in Skagway to do some sightseeing and shopping. The ship was almost at the end of the street so it was a short stroll back.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California, USA
Date:July 31, 2015
excellent trip
we really enjoyed this excursion. Our guide was wonderful. It was very educational and he was very knowledgeable about the Yukon territory and the gold rush era....he even recited an old poem in a Scottish brogue !
He also stopped for photo ops whenever we wanted....we loved it !
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Cannes, France
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:July 11, 2015
Unforgettable Trip to the Yukon!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was a great all-day excursion. The mini-buses are small, comfortable, quiet and allow quick photo stops (not having to unload a full coach full of people). Our guide started with a short narrated tour of Skagway, its people and its history. He did a quick drive through town, pointing out sites to further explore upon our return.
Our guide, a former national park service employee, was a superb storyteller. He took us back to the year 1898 as news of the discovery of large nuggets of gold reached the world, bringing thousands of prospector “stampeders” to seek their fortune. As we proceed along the White Pass Trail of '98, our guide explains the trials and tribulations of the gold miners as they climbed toward the Canadian border and over the pass.
Along the way, there were several opportunities to get off the bus and take photos of the as we move above the treeline into the sub-artic tundra. The mini-bus also allows the driver to easily stop to view wildlife (including bears along the roadside).
We stopped for 45 minutes a Spirit Lake Wilderness Resort for a light lunch of soup, sandwiches, and homemade apple pie. No trip in the Yukon is complete without obligatory stops at the “Welcome to Alaska” and “Yukon” signs where our guide helped everyone get great shots, quickly and efficiently. We make a 30 minute stop in the village of Carcross for some shopping and snacks.
ShoreEx Tip: Don’t forget your passport. You will not be allowed to board the bus without a passport. The Canadian Royal Mounted Police come on the bus and [quickly] check passports at the border crossing.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:May 28, 2015
Perfect trip for picture lovers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Highly recommended trip for people that want to get on and off the vehicle to appreciate the scenery. Compared to the train ride, we got a lot of chance to stop and take pictures of the changing landscapes during the drive.
Our driver, Paul, was very informative, funny, and knowledgeable. He knew where to stop, when to stop (eg, pass through other big buses when getting to picture spot so everyone on the bus can get unobstructed pictures), and most importantly, shared stories from a Stagway local's perspective.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Juneau, Alaska
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:May 25, 2015
Amazing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm going to be honest, I wanted to go on the train ride. My husband did not want to do that, so we decided on this tour. When we got to the port and saw the amount of people going to the train, I was immediately regretting our decision not to go on the train. When we got on the bus, one of the first things the driver, Peter, said to us was "You had to make a decision whether or not to go on the train, I guarantee you made the right decision coming on the bus." Boy, was he right! We were able to do things that I know the train was not able to do, such as stopping on the side of the road when we saw a bear. Peter was amazing and made the whole experience more fun. He was extremely informative and super friendly. We also went approx. 70 miles past where the train goes. We saw amazing scenery the entire ride and were able to stop and take pictures. The highlight of this tour was Emerald Lake. The most amazing lake I have ever seen. I am so glad that we chose this tour and if we went back, we would do the same.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:May 21, 2015
Excellent
We took this excursion on May 11, 2015. The scenery was amazing. For those who traveled only as far as the Yukon border on the train, you missed the most beautiful
glacial lakes and scenery. As pretty as it was getting to the border, the scenery beyond was far more impressive.
Our tour guide, Peter Lucchetti, was the best guide that we have encountered in any of our extensive travels. He was well-versed in the history, culture, wild life, flora, and fauna.
We encourage anyone heading to Skagway to consider this excursion.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.