NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Skagway, Alaska or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Yukon Territory Scenic Drive

<!--break--> <p>Take a scenic drive up the spectacular Klondike Highway and into Canada’s historic and beautiful Yukon Territory. Your mountain guide and mini bus with big windows will transport you up the original White Pass “Trail of ’98.” Along the way, you’ll be greeted by the rugged expanse of land that both Infuriated and enchanted gold seekers over 100 years ago. Pass waterfalls, glaciers, and peaks before crossing the mountain cradling the 3,292 ft. summit and following a jewel-like string of lakes that feed the Yukon River.</p> <br> <p>In the Yukon, you’ll visit the village of Carcross. Rich in history, you’ll be charmed by its picturesque log cabins, hotel and General Store. Further north, see the “smallest desert in the world,” and then continue to Emerald Lake, truly a gem in its green valley setting. Lunch is a home-style affair at the Spirit Lake Lodge, famous throughout the Yukon for its wonderful pies. You’ll then return to Skagway with plenty of time left for exploring the historic downtown or shopping. </p> <br> <p> <strong>Note: </strong>This excursion enters Canada, all participants are required to carry a valid passport.</p>
Average:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Review 1 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kiyoku
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:May 28, 2015
Perfect trip for picture lovers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Highly recommended trip for people that want to get on and off the vehicle to appreciate the scenery. Compared to the train ride, we got a lot of chance to stop and take pictures of the changing landscapes during the drive.
Our driver, Paul, was very informative, funny, and knowledgeable. He knew where to stop, when to stop (eg, pass through other big buses when getting to picture spot so everyone on the bus can get unobstructed pictures), and most importantly, shared stories from a Stagway local's perspective.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mirage325
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Juneau, Alaska
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:May 25, 2015
Amazing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm going to be honest, I wanted to go on the train ride. My husband did not want to do that, so we decided on this tour. When we got to the port and saw the amount of people going to the train, I was immediately regretting our decision not to go on the train. When we got on the bus, one of the first things the driver, Peter, said to us was "You had to make a decision whether or not to go on the train, I guarantee you made the right decision coming on the bus." Boy, was he right! We were able to do things that I know the train was not able to do, such as stopping on the side of the road when we saw a bear. Peter was amazing and made the whole experience more fun. He was extremely informative and super friendly. We also went approx. 70 miles past where the train goes. We saw amazing scenery the entire ride and were able to stop and take pictures. The highlight of this tour was Emerald Lake. The most amazing lake I have ever seen. I am so glad that we chose this tour and if we went back, we would do the same.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kayakgirl
Location: Texas
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:May 21, 2015
Excellent
We took this excursion on May 11, 2015. The scenery was amazing. For those who traveled only as far as the Yukon border on the train, you missed the most beautiful
glacial lakes and scenery. As pretty as it was getting to the border, the scenery beyond was far more impressive.
Our tour guide, Peter Lucchetti, was the best guide that we have encountered in any of our extensive travels. He was well-versed in the history, culture, wild life, flora, and fauna.
We encourage anyone heading to Skagway to consider this excursion.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABlackburn
Location: Florida
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Juneau, Alaska
Date:September 15, 2013
This trip was excellent!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My husband and I took this trip on July 31, 2013. Pete, our driver was superb!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1sttimers
Location: AZ
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Date:September 7, 2013
VERY BEAUTIFUL
Nice scenery but its a long trip in a cramped bus. My husband and the guy across the aisle is over six foot so since it was a small bus (as seen in the video) they were so uncomfortable. We felt a bit squashed sitting next to each other (me seating next to my husband). Wildlife is on there own schedule so no complaints as the only wildlife we saw were mountain goats way way up high on the mountain side. I would have preferred to skip the lunch and just been offered water and granola bar instead. Lunch had much to be desired and it would have gotten us back to Skagway sooner for some shopping and pictures of the town, by skipping a sit down lunch. We had to walk from one end of town to the ship and shop in 40mins. A few folks were not happy about that. Bring extra few dollars to tip your tour drivers. Each excursion we went on they all asked for a tip if you liked them. Someone mentioned on a review to bring some bucks but didn't really explain why. Why, because the tour drivers or boat captains, tour host all ask for a tip if you thought they did a good job. We did enjoy all the tours so we tipped.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jukngene
Location: Delaware
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Bermuda
Date:August 24, 2013
Beautiful Drive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I really can't add too much to the other reviews, but I have to say this was my favorite excursion of our cruise. Our tour guide, Andy, was very informative and gave us many details of what we were seeing, plus he gave us insight into living in Skagway, and shared stories of his young family, and how they got to Skagway. Being able to stop at several places was definitely a plus and we had a simple, but very delicious lunch.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lefevre25
Location: Atlanta
Party size: 7
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Family oriented
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:August 18, 2013
Great day!
Great excursion. If you can pick your bus driver, ask for Doug. He made this trip. He stopped at so many stops along our trip to show us something as you might say we're off the beaten path. Very enjoyable day.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HuskerCruiser
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:August 10, 2013
Breathtaking Scenery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was a delightful trip that I chose after reading that we got to go father into the Yukon than the train trip goes. I am glad we did this excursion. Our driver regaled us with great information and recited poetry to us, as well as making sure we had plenty of time to enjoy the spectacular views.
Lunch was nice - nothing to write home about - but it was tasty and gave us a break from the bus. The folks at the restaurant could not have been kinder. I could have done without the stop in Carcross, but it was well worth the gratuitous souvenir stop it to see the amazing sites we experienced along the way.
I likely wouldn't recommend this for kids, but for those who want to see as much of the White Horse Trail and the Yukon as you can, this is the way to go.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leimomi
Location: Hawaii
Party size: 8
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Juneau, Alaska
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:July 30, 2013
Breathtaking Views
I was in awe at the natural beauty throughout the scenic tour. The lake waters mirrored the mountains...breathtaking. We also saw two black bears. Our driver was really accommodating taking us near to take good pictures. He also shared a lot of history with us.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A8chkay
Location: California
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Date:July 22, 2013
Really See the Beauty
This was a GORGEOUS drive. Our tour guide, Pete, was very funny, and shared lots and lots of information with us. He even recited a few poems about the Klondike Gold Rush.
We were in a small bus (only room for about 30 passengers) with really clean windows so you have a lovely view and can take pictures the whole time. My only complaint about the bus was the seats. They were a bit small and sat very close together. My husband has broad shoulders, so he was slightly uncomfortable, but still enjoyed the trip.
We stopped many times for everyone to get out and take pictures both on the way up, and coming back down. There were two times that we stopped to see the mountain goats that were up in the mountains. Pete made sure we stopped at the "Welcome to Alaska" sign, as well, and took pictures of your party in front if you wanted. As you drive, you can see the train on the other side of the small mountain valley, but this tour goes about 50 miles past the train's stopping point.
We stopped for lunch (included in the tour price) at a family owned place. The food was light, but very good. They served two different types of sandwiches, a tortilla wrap (the best I've ever had), two types of soup, and two types of pie.
Carcross was a nice little town, and the "smallest dessert" was a nice sight to see. The lakes, waterfalls, streams, and flowers were beautiful.
Pete gave us the option of being dropped off in town or at the ship. It's an easy and fairly short walk back to the ship from the town.
We had a wonderful time. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the natural beauty of the landscape, but doesn't necessarily want to spend a lot of time walking. This tour has a slower-paced feel, but you still get to see a lot.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apsalar
Location: San Jose, CA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:July 16, 2013
Do this tour!
I strongly encourage anyone who loves to get out and see beautiful scenery to go on this tour. We had a 24-passenger bus that drove up the Klondike highway into BC, then on into Yukon Territory. We stopped for lunch at Spirit Lake Lodge, then went to Carcross for about 30 minutes to explore (it doesn't take very long), then drove back to Skagway. We stopped to get out for pictures about a dozen times. Our tour guide Paul was super friendly and engaging, with lots of funny stories to tell. He even returned my water bottle that I left on the bus to the ship so it was there when we boarded. We left at 8:30am, and the bus dropped us off in town at Skagway at 2:30pm, so we still had about 2 hours to walk around before the 4:30 all-aboard. The mountains and lakes of the area are simply incredible. Do this tour!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NCLcruisergal
Location: Louisiana
Party size: 3
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Venice, Italy
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:July 16, 2013
Fantastic Tour with Non-Stop Scenery!
This tour was perfect for my friends and me, as it goes further into the Yukon than the train can, and as the previous reviewers have said, the drivers make numerous stops so you can get out the minibus, admire the never-ending scenery, and take plenty of photos. We were lucky enough to see a bear eating lunch in a dandelion patch very close to the side of the road. Andy, our fantastic driver, stopped for 10 minutes so we could watch the bear and take photos through the bus's large windows. A few minutes later we saw more bears, a mother and her twin cubs. Again, we stopped, watched, and photographed them from the bus until they were out of view. We also saw several bald eagles throughout the day.
Besides all the spectacular scenery, there are stops in the Yukon at the village of Carcross (picturesque with a great general store), the world's smallest desert (amazing to see all that sand in the middle of the green fields and snow topped mountains), and Emerald Lake (breathtaking). A light lunch of soup, sandwiches and pie is served at Spirit Lake Lodge.
This tour is incredibly scenic, and Andy's personal stories and narrated history of the gold rush were interesting and entertaining. This excursion made our cruise all the more memorable!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JPNNH
Location: New Hampshire
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Family oriented
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:July 11, 2013
GREAT TOUR
Excellent tour...Great tour guide...nice free lunch...plenty of stops for picture taking...Highly recommend over the train tour due to the ability to stop whenever/wherever. Saw a bear on side of road & driver stopped several times for great photo ops...Would take this tour again...
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zoundsltd
Date:July 6, 2013
Better than the train!
Don't get stuck on the train! This tour takes you places the train cannot go, plus also goes places the train does go,so you get the best of both. They provide lunch, and they stop at all the best views so there is ample time to get out and take photos of all the secnic beauty of Alaska and the Yukon. Emerald Lake is a must see! Paul was an excellent tour guide.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.