NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Skagway, Alaska or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Yukon Territory Scenic Drive

<!--break--> <p>Take a scenic drive up the spectacular Klondike Highway and into Canada’s historic and beautiful Yukon Territory. Your mountain guide and mini bus with big windows will transport you up the original White Pass “Trail of ’98.” Along the way, you’ll be greeted by the rugged expanse of land that both Infuriated and enchanted gold seekers over 100 years ago. Pass waterfalls, glaciers, and peaks before crossing the mountain cradling the 3,292 ft. summit and following a jewel-like string of lakes that feed the Yukon River.</p> <br> <p>In the Yukon, you’ll visit the village of Carcross. Rich in history, you’ll be charmed by its picturesque log cabins, hotel and General Store. Further north, see the “smallest desert in the world,” and then continue to Emerald Lake, truly a gem in its green valley setting. Lunch is a home-style affair at the Spirit Lake Lodge, famous throughout the Yukon for its wonderful pies. You’ll then return to Skagway with plenty of time left for exploring the historic downtown or shopping. </p> <br> <p> <strong>Note: </strong>This excursion enters Canada, all participants are required to carry a valid passport.</p>
Average:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Review 1 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Oranjestad, Aruba
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:May 21, 2016
Excellent adventure!
While in Skagway for the second time we had to choose between the railroad or this tour. We are so glad we did this tour. Our tour guide was Peter and he was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny! You ride on a mini bus with approximately 20 people. The mini bus was new and the windows are very large and clean. Unlike the train we were able to stop whenever we saw wildlife. Peter just pulled over when someone spotted an animal. We ended up in Carcross and had a delicious lunch. Emerald lake is beautiful! You don't have to walk a lot so this is a great excursion for any age. It is nice to take a tour that is beautiful but you also learn the history of the area at the same time. We would highly recommend this tour!
Review 2 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Educational
Date:September 2, 2015
Great trip
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Wonderful scenic drive up to Yukon, we stopped for incredible scenery opportunities. Each new area was as spectacular as the last. Could not recommend more highly
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2015
Our favourite tour
We went on this tour with Lenny who was very knowledgeable. He stopped the bus several times for photo ops and was a fountain of information. The scenery was beautiful and I loved Emerald Lake. Lunch at the Spirit Lodge was sandwiches and pie and lots of it. With a short stop in Carcross and the desert, it was just the right length of time. We got off the bus in Skagway to do some sightseeing and shopping. The ship was almost at the end of the street so it was a short stroll back.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California, USA
Date:July 31, 2015
excellent trip
we really enjoyed this excursion. Our guide was wonderful. It was very educational and he was very knowledgeable about the Yukon territory and the gold rush era....he even recited an old poem in a Scottish brogue !
He also stopped for photo ops whenever we wanted....we loved it !
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Cannes, France
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:July 11, 2015
Unforgettable Trip to the Yukon!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was a great all-day excursion. The mini-buses are small, comfortable, quiet and allow quick photo stops (not having to unload a full coach full of people). Our guide started with a short narrated tour of Skagway, its people and its history. He did a quick drive through town, pointing out sites to further explore upon our return.
Our guide, a former national park service employee, was a superb storyteller. He took us back to the year 1898 as news of the discovery of large nuggets of gold reached the world, bringing thousands of prospector “stampeders” to seek their fortune. As we proceed along the White Pass Trail of '98, our guide explains the trials and tribulations of the gold miners as they climbed toward the Canadian border and over the pass.
Along the way, there were several opportunities to get off the bus and take photos of the as we move above the treeline into the sub-artic tundra. The mini-bus also allows the driver to easily stop to view wildlife (including bears along the roadside).
We stopped for 45 minutes a Spirit Lake Wilderness Resort for a light lunch of soup, sandwiches, and homemade apple pie. No trip in the Yukon is complete without obligatory stops at the “Welcome to Alaska” and “Yukon” signs where our guide helped everyone get great shots, quickly and efficiently. We make a 30 minute stop in the village of Carcross for some shopping and snacks.
ShoreEx Tip: Don’t forget your passport. You will not be allowed to board the bus without a passport. The Canadian Royal Mounted Police come on the bus and [quickly] check passports at the border crossing.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:May 28, 2015
Perfect trip for picture lovers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Highly recommended trip for people that want to get on and off the vehicle to appreciate the scenery. Compared to the train ride, we got a lot of chance to stop and take pictures of the changing landscapes during the drive.
Our driver, Paul, was very informative, funny, and knowledgeable. He knew where to stop, when to stop (eg, pass through other big buses when getting to picture spot so everyone on the bus can get unobstructed pictures), and most importantly, shared stories from a Stagway local's perspective.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Juneau, Alaska
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:May 25, 2015
Amazing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm going to be honest, I wanted to go on the train ride. My husband did not want to do that, so we decided on this tour. When we got to the port and saw the amount of people going to the train, I was immediately regretting our decision not to go on the train. When we got on the bus, one of the first things the driver, Peter, said to us was "You had to make a decision whether or not to go on the train, I guarantee you made the right decision coming on the bus." Boy, was he right! We were able to do things that I know the train was not able to do, such as stopping on the side of the road when we saw a bear. Peter was amazing and made the whole experience more fun. He was extremely informative and super friendly. We also went approx. 70 miles past where the train goes. We saw amazing scenery the entire ride and were able to stop and take pictures. The highlight of this tour was Emerald Lake. The most amazing lake I have ever seen. I am so glad that we chose this tour and if we went back, we would do the same.
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yukon Territory Scenic Drive
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildlife/Scenery: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Skagway, Alaska
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:May 21, 2015
Excellent
We took this excursion on May 11, 2015. The scenery was amazing. For those who traveled only as far as the Yukon border on the train, you missed the most beautiful
glacial lakes and scenery. As pretty as it was getting to the border, the scenery beyond was far more impressive.
Our tour guide, Peter Lucchetti, was the best guide that we have encountered in any of our extensive travels. He was well-versed in the history, culture, wild life, flora, and fauna.
We encourage anyone heading to Skagway to consider this excursion.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.