NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(106)
Honolulu(23)
Huatulco(20)
Juneau(93)
Kauai(177)
Ketchikan(22)
Kona(112)
Miami(13)
Newport(3)
San Juan(19)
Skagway(80)
Stockholm(11)
Sydney(2)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Maya Key Private Island Retreat

Enjoy a Caribbean getaway that offers everything you would expect from a tropical destination and much more! This peaceful 11.5 acre private key is conveniently located just three minutes across the bay from the Roatan cruise pier. White sand beaches and crystal clear Caribbean waters can be enjoyed within minutes of arriving in Roatan. This adventurous island retreat offers two secluded beaches, excellent snorkeling from a scenic pier, a 70,000 gallon swimming pool, 5,000 square foot lounge deck and lush garden paths bursting with indigenous flora. Recently a wildlife sanctuary and rescue center has been established here and now Maya Key is home to wildlife that have been injured, orphaned, confiscated or donated. Residents at the sanctuary change frequently, but there is always someone interesting hanging around. Maya Key also features Rotan’s finest cultural attraction, The Bay Island’s Interpretation Center, Ethnic Honduran Art Exhibit Center and Artisan Plaza, each offering a quick and convenient way for those who want to learn more about the diverse and culturally rich country of Honduras. Note: Additional activities are available at an additional cost at location. Buffet style lunch is included.
Average:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Review 1 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bosnatis
Location:Kennesaw, GA, USA
Party size:5
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:April
Cruise Date Year:2014
Favorite activities:Family oriented
Favorite port:Cozumel, Mexico
I want to go here next:Hawaii
Date:April 13, 2014
Great beach day to relax and snorkel
The day started with a 5 minute boat ride to the island. Only two cruise ships were at port this day so we had the island to ourselves. Plenty of chairs and tables to set your personal items down. No vendors so all your stuff was safe. (they did have lockers available but they are not needed) We took pictures with a small alligator and macaw. We spend about an hour touring the island by ourselves looking at all the animals. The kids loved this part. (Three boys 7, 11 and 12) We then went to the end of the pier where we went snorkeling. We had our own gear, they do have some for you if needed. Once in the water you follow an underwater trail marked by coke bottles then you are in the open. It was windy this day so the current was pretty tough. My 7 year old had a tough time. We snorkeled around a bit then went out and the drop from about 10 feet was crazy to about 100 feet. Plenty of room to snorkel in the 10 feet of water. For the next few hours we hung out at the beach. We headed to the see the sea lions which was nice. For a fee they had some one on one interaction with a sea lion. We sat and watched. We then went and had lunch which was served until 1:30. You can only get in line once so make sure you get enough, it was very good food. Traditional rice and beans, sea bass, chicken and plantains. Water and tea included. Alcoholic beverages and soda available for purchase. Beer was $4. We then headed to the pool for a few hours before we left the island. The boats back to the ship went back every 30 minutes. Our day was very full but we did get to do everything on the island. Plenty of pictures to take of all the rescued animals. If you watch the video on NCL.com it is very accurate of what goes on the island.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RobinS
Location:Columbus, OH, USA
Party size:4
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:March
Favorite activities:Family oriented
Date:April 1, 2014
Great Family Excursion
This was a great get away for our family and friends. The beach is small but perfect. The kids had a great time in the water! Some of the kids/adults from our group went snorkeling off the pier and had a great time. We enjoyed relaxing at the beach and also walking around to look at the animals. Lunch was served and it was great!! There was a pool also when the kids were done at the beach. This was the most relaxing day and we were the last to leave the island that day! If you are looking for a low key, relaxing day at the beach, this is the excursion for you!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CanadianIslander
Location:Prince Edward Island, Canada
Party size:4
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:March
Favorite port:Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Date:March 26, 2014
Best value
This 'little' island is small enough to wallk all the way around.
The animals are a good sample and it's extra nice to know that this was a sanctuary & they are 'rescued'. And I was impressed at the quality of the cage set up.
The guided-tour was fun & we had lots of time after to walk around.
My spouse & a friend had been here the year before, and did the "Tabyana Beach Day and the Gumbalimba Preservation Park Tour" .. and she noted that this island was a better value ... unless you like monkeys really want monkeys on you ?
We did not take in the snorkeling but others that came back from it spoke of how wonderful that was.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DennisS
Location:Coastal NC
Cruise Date Month:February
Date:February 19, 2014
Great relaxing day!
This island is literally a one minute boat ride from the ship. The beach is small, but there was still enough room for everyone. There are many types of animals in roomy and natural enclosures around the island - which you can circle in about a half hour. They had interactive encounters with birds and a baby croc. They also have 3 Sea lions you can see up close. The best were the howler monkeys that roam free in the trees. The food was good - chicken, fried sea bass, rice and beans, and salad - included in the tour. The bar was good and reasonably priced. There's also a swimming pool, some recreated Mayan ruins, and a small gift store. We saw a lot of staff cleaning up leaves and debris - so the place was clean. Since it is a private island - NO VENDORS AT ALL!!!! it was great, especially considering the mobs that are everywhere else. I did a lot of exploring away from the regular areas, and got a lot of sand flea bites. My wife didn't get bothered at all. They have boats leaving every half hour, so you make your own schedule to go back to the ship. Bottom line for us was a wonderful day.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ukoldav
Location:Springfield, Ma, USA
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:January
Favorite activities:Adventure
Favorite port:Belize City, Belize
I want to go here next:Caribbean
Date:February 8, 2014
Relaxing, fun time!
I snorkeled off the pier while wife was sunning on the adjacent beach. We attended the Sea Lion feeding time which was fun. We took the escorted cultural Mayan tour (reconstructed), which also took us past animal sanctuary (jaguars, crocs, birds). Clean changing rooms. Clean pool and lunch was good.
Snorkel reef begins 150 feet from end of pier in a maze of coral reef and continues to an underwater dropoff where fish congregate. Good visibility, Average snorkeling.
Time went by fast. Take the earlier excursion out for more relaxing time.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
screwloose
Location:Auburn, NY, USA
Party size:6
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:December
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Adventure
Favorite port:Alexandria, Egypt
I want to go here next:Alaska
Date:December 11, 2013
Beautiful and clean ! Must see ! !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
One of the Prettiest and cleanest places to visit ! ! Snorkling along this reef was amazing ! ! Anyone that has visited other counties know how unsanitary conditions can be ...... not here ! ! Lunch was great , beach was beautiful and no one trying to sell you anything. Cant say enough about this place if you want a nice relaxing day , this coming from a very adventurus person !
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Texasgin
Location:Edmonton, AB
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:December
Cruise Date Year:2010
Favorite activities:Adventure
Favorite port:Willemstad, Curacao
I want to go here next:South America
Date:September 29, 2013
Good Rainy Day
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It was raining on the day we were here. The food was wonderful and so were the drinks. We did go watch some people snorkel but raining so hard we did not do ourselves. The weather let up and we sat and went in the water. Walked around the Island and saw all the animals.
It would have been a great Excursion if the weather was better. We still stuck it out and made the most of our day.
We still had a lot of time to go shopping.
We would do this again.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetSeMae
Location:Orlando, FL
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:November
Cruise Date Year:2010
Favorite activities:Adventure
I want to go here next:Caribbean
Date:September 9, 2013
A great self guided relaxing day
My husband and I are avid cruisers and when we went on our honeymoon on the EPIC we were looking for something a bit low key. There are a lot of guided excursions, and beaches. What makes this very different is that it is a private island (a small one) and that you are free to roam about the entire place. This was the absolute best part of the excursion. It is set up as a small animal sanctuary, beach and "Mayan ruins" (this is a re-creation not actual ruins). We spent some time talking to the animal caretakers and they informed us that all the animals were rescues and that it was privately owned and operated. The leopard that they discuss in the video was someones pet that they had to have removed. They are in very natural habitats and well cared for. You are however right on top of them and could actually reach out and touch them, although since they are wild I wouldn't recommend it. There was a beach and food which we did not eat so I cannot speak to that. Bring money if you want to rent any gear, purchase food, souvenirs etc. You can leave the island whenever you would like the boat leaves every 20 min or so.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BirdTravels
Party size:1
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:March
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Family oriented
Favorite port:Cannes, France
I want to go here next:Bahamas and Florida
Date:April 15, 2013
Beach Day
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This was a fun excursion and beach day. 5 minutes by boat from the ship and you’re on a private island for the day. Snorkeling along the edge of the reef was great – like swimming in an aquarium. Waters were warm and clear. Animal encounter allowed guest to take pictures holding an alligator and monkey. The provided lunch was simple and very appropriate for a beach (Caribbean chicken, batter fried sea bass, rice and beans with coconut, fried bananas, salad, ice tea – don’t expect shipboard fine dining. Wild life preserve and Honduran museum were interesting. And the sea lion encounter let you kiss a sea lion.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
zeule
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:March
Cruise Date Year:2013
Date:March 12, 2013
Skip This One
Tiny little beach area, pool way too small for all the people that are there from different cruise ships. Beach chairs dirty with
bird droppings, not at all what we expected from the excursion description.
Left after one hour.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
punaddict
Date:January 10, 2013
relax
For that stress-free, kick-back day, this is ideal. Quick water taxi from ship to shore and you are free to wander the replica stone attractions, outdoor rescued animal enclosures, beach, gardens, shops, bar and wooded hilltop pool. Parrots and iguanas wander freely. No sales pitches or island vendors. Regularly scheduled play with the animals, a day sunning on a beach chair, a dip in the pool or food and cocktails poolside is your choice. Not spectacular, but a nice day. The small tasty buffet was a bonus.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
emilyran
Location:Boston, MA
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:December
Favorite activities:Educational
Favorite port:Costa Maya, Mexico
I want to go here next:Mexican Riviera
Date:December 21, 2012
Ok for a beach day
I'm not sure this was really worth it. I bought this one for a beach day not knowing if we'd be able to just wing it and get to & from a beach. The lunch was great. The beach area is wayyy smaller than pictures make it look. The description makes the pool sound much bigger than it is. Pros: easy day, plenty of food, strong drinks, Cons: pricey, there are $15 beach trips sold in the port.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laffnvegas
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Party size:7
I traveled with:Friends
Cruise Date Month:November
Favorite activities:Relaxing
Favorite port:Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next:Europe
Date:December 3, 2012
Another Way to Spend a Relaxing Day in Roatan
Our recent cruise on the Dawn Nov 2012 was out third time to Roatan which is one of my favorite Caribbean Ports. In the past we have done excursions that took us to the other side of the island. This time I wanted to be a bit closer to the ship/pier. I thought the facilities were excellent and well maintained and actually loved the beach area and the swimming was perfect. We felt as though we had the island all to ourselves. I do feel that this particular excursions is just slightly over priced for what meal and limited beverage is offered compared to other similar excursions but I would most likely do this again but for my husband who does not swim or enjoy beach activities he stated he would just stay on the ship. But if you are looking for a private beach with great swimming this would be the place.
The added treat was seeing the animals and holding the baby monkey.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maya Key Private Island Retreat
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
airportbabe
Location:Dallas
Party size:3
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:April
Favorite activities:Adventure
I want to go here next:Caribbean
Date:May 12, 2012
Great trip
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I loved the snorkeling here. The water was warm and very calm. There were plenty of fish to see and some very interesting coral.
We also had a fun time interacting with the sea lions. Lots of great pictures were taken by us ase each of the 3 of us had a chance to pose and learn about each sea lion.
I also took the opportunity to snorkel with the sharks. The water was kind of murky and I wasn't able to see as clearly as I would have liked but I was still able to get some great pictures. I plan on doing this same cruise next year with a different person and will probably do a repeat on this excursion as well
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.