NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Kona, Hawaii or
Choose a destination

Product Reviews

Kona Mocha

<!--break--> <p>Kona is coffee country, and at Kona Joe's Coffee they have adapted methods used by the world's finest wine producers to cultivate their award winning trellised coffee. Their trees have actually been trained to grow like grapevines, exposing more beans to direct sunlight. You’ll see how coffee is processed and sample the uniquely brewed end product for yourself. </p> <br> <p>Your next stop provides an opportunity to appreciate another delicious bean – cacao. At the Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory, learn about the processing of chocolate, made from the fruit of trees grown on the property. And yes – tastes of this heavenly treat will be available here too. </p> <br> <strong> Note: </strong> Participants will need to be able to walk on grass and uneven terrain.
Average:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kona Mocha
Review 1 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2015
It was just alright
It wasn't really that fun. The chocolate factory you only get a few samples. For the price it is definitely not worth it. People were more interested in the geckos climbing on the table then what the guy was actually saying.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wollongong NSW, Australia
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Cruise Date Year: 2008
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Kona, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:August 19, 2015
Great way to spend a morning
Capt. Rob was our driver today, and his dialogue was funny, informative & great. First stop was Kona Joe, where Maria gave a great tour and talked us thru the process of coffee production and had great samples.
Next stop was original Hawaiian chocolate factory with Bob, who took us behind the scenes of his business, very informative view of a boutique factory
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2015
Good for a half day
Free chocolate & coffee, what else is there to say. Otherwise, so-so.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: PA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Honolulu, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:July 23, 2015
Nothing better than coffee and chocolate
The guide at Kona Joe's was a ball of energy that enjoyed her job Both stops were interesting and a nice way to spend a few hours Nothing to really write home about
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Date:January 19, 2015
Coffee + Chocolate= Fun Way to Wake Up to
My wife loves chocolate & I like coffee so we combined our interests in this excursion. Flavorful is all we can say.about Kona Joe's, it is an experience for all coffee drinkers to see and smell. The deliciousness of the dark chocolate & it's process was great too at Original Hawaiian Chocolate. We did have our chocolate mailed back to the states for us and it arrived after we arrived home. Yum O is all we say now, as the coffee is consumed and chocolate too!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Party size: 6
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: December
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:December 25, 2014
Yummy, delicious and beautiful
The chocolate tour was very interesting and informative and the owner was most gracious in explaining everything and offering samples. Kona Coffee was also very interesting and the setting was absolutely gorgeous. Also good about samples, which was good because the coffee is $40.lb! Two very enjoyable tours, followed by a great lunch at Kona Brew Pub and a walk around the town. Great afternoon.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: December
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Educational
Date:December 21, 2014
Coffee & Chocolate
Just returned from the cruise last night. This is a good choice for those who want to learn more about how coffee and chocolate are grown and processed
A nice bus ride with commentary takes you from the pier to Kona Joe's Coffee farm. Our bus driver told us about the area on the way to KJ's. His speech was obviously memorized, as it sounded very canned, but nonetheless it was informative. You are greeted with a sample of coffee and an explanation of how coffee grows, etc. The second part of the tour takes you into the processing plant. If you are expecting tours in the fields, this doesn't happen. After wards you are given time to explore the gift shop and make purchases. Before you leave you receive a KJ's coffee mug which is quite nice and was a surprise.
At the chocolate farm, you are greeted with samples of chocolate and then you take a short walk (100 feet) to the cocao trees, where the host/owner explains how chocolate is grown, etc. The you proceed to the shelling spot and drying spot of the beans and then into the processing room, and of course another stop in their gift shop.
This is a fair excursion for the price. You do have to walk on uneven ground, so those who have issues walking on flat surfaces, should really stay home.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite port: Santorini, Greece
I want to go here next: South America
Date:September 28, 2014
Great Coffee Stop
This tour is very short and was ideal after two long days of activity. It started off with short drive up to Kona Joe's coffee plantation. This is a great spot for good coffee and great scenic views of the ocean. Be sure to take your camera. We got a cup of coffee and then a short tour of the coffee making process. This place has a great gift shop. We then headed to a cacao farm. It's a small, local household that makes chocolate. We got to see the trees and how the cacao beans are dried out and made into chocolate. Do note, the gift shop here is very small. We had enough time after this excursion to walk around town and also get chocolate.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Johnson City, TN, USA
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:July 24, 2014
Great excursion
This was a nice little excursion in Kona. Very little walking, lots of standing but didn't have to do any strenuous activity. Kona Joe's has delicious coffee and you receive a free mug and samples when visiting. The place has some spectacular views and the drive to Kona Joe's has great views. That's what made Kona my favorite stop. The chocolate factory is small but delicious! Very informative and the samples were great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.