NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(6)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(99)
Honolulu(30)
Huatulco(20)
Juneau(82)
Kauai(160)
Ketchikan(21)
Kona(95)
Miami(15)
Newport(4)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(67)
Stockholm(12)
Browse destinations at NCL
Kona or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Kona Mocha

You’ll drive through Kona’s coffee country and visit Kona Joe's Coffee, where they have adopted methods from the world's finest wine producers to cultivate the award winning trellised coffee. You’ll see how coffee is processed and then sample the "People's Choice Award" coffee. Next, you’ll visit the "Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory". This is the only factory of its kind in Hawaii. You’ll see and learn how chocolate is made from the actual cacao trees grown on the property. And of course, you’ll have the chance to sample the luxurious chocolates! Note: Participants will need to be able to walk on grass and uneven terrain.
Average:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kona Mocha
Review 1 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JNPW
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Date:January 19, 2015
Coffee + Chocolate= Fun Way to Wake Up to
My wife loves chocolate & I like coffee so we combined our interests in this excursion. Flavorful is all we can say.about Kona Joe's, it is an experience for all coffee drinkers to see and smell. The deliciousness of the dark chocolate & it's process was great too at Original Hawaiian Chocolate. We did have our chocolate mailed back to the states for us and it arrived after we arrived home. Yum O is all we say now, as the coffee is consumed and chocolate too!
Review 2 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RLGP
Party size: 6
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: December
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:December 25, 2014
Yummy, delicious and beautiful
The chocolate tour was very interesting and informative and the owner was most gracious in explaining everything and offering samples. Kona Coffee was also very interesting and the setting was absolutely gorgeous. Also good about samples, which was good because the coffee is $40.lb! Two very enjoyable tours, followed by a great lunch at Kona Brew Pub and a walk around the town. Great afternoon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunray
Location: Idaho
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: December
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Educational
Date:December 21, 2014
Coffee & Chocolate
Just returned from the cruise last night. This is a good choice for those who want to learn more about how coffee and chocolate are grown and processed
A nice bus ride with commentary takes you from the pier to Kona Joe's Coffee farm. Our bus driver told us about the area on the way to KJ's. His speech was obviously memorized, as it sounded very canned, but nonetheless it was informative. You are greeted with a sample of coffee and an explanation of how coffee grows, etc. The second part of the tour takes you into the processing plant. If you are expecting tours in the fields, this doesn't happen. After wards you are given time to explore the gift shop and make purchases. Before you leave you receive a KJ's coffee mug which is quite nice and was a surprise.
At the chocolate farm, you are greeted with samples of chocolate and then you take a short walk (100 feet) to the cocao trees, where the host/owner explains how chocolate is grown, etc. The you proceed to the shelling spot and drying spot of the beans and then into the processing room, and of course another stop in their gift shop.
This is a fair excursion for the price. You do have to walk on uneven ground, so those who have issues walking on flat surfaces, should really stay home.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lissa88
Location: New Jersey
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite port: Santorini, Greece
I want to go here next: South America
Date:September 28, 2014
Great Coffee Stop
This tour is very short and was ideal after two long days of activity. It started off with short drive up to Kona Joe's coffee plantation. This is a great spot for good coffee and great scenic views of the ocean. Be sure to take your camera. We got a cup of coffee and then a short tour of the coffee making process. This place has a great gift shop. We then headed to a cacao farm. It's a small, local household that makes chocolate. We got to see the trees and how the cacao beans are dried out and made into chocolate. Do note, the gift shop here is very small. We had enough time after this excursion to walk around town and also get chocolate.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
London7cew
Location: Johnson City, TN, USA
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:July 24, 2014
Great excursion
This was a nice little excursion in Kona. Very little walking, lots of standing but didn't have to do any strenuous activity. Kona Joe's has delicious coffee and you receive a free mug and samples when visiting. The place has some spectacular views and the drive to Kona Joe's has great views. That's what made Kona my favorite stop. The chocolate factory is small but delicious! Very informative and the samples were great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scott89081
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:June 27, 2014
Great shopping and learning adventure
When we booked this we knew we were going to do some shopping and we were able to do that. We also got a good education on how chocolate and coffee are made. The driver was very funny as he told us lots of stories. This is a must if you want great coffee and wonderful chocolate.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TMFRN
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Date:October 24, 2013
Great for price
If you love chocolate and coffee you'll love this excursion. Great tour guide and ride up to the chocolate factory and coffee farm. Highly educational with beautiful scenery (I love Kona). The complimentary muffin, coffee and coffee mug was a nice surprise too. Very pleasant experience.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CalgaryTraveller
Date:October 5, 2013
Mocha great, Kona good
The mocha part of the trip was the best. At Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory we listened to the owner tell us how cocoa is grown while we stood under the cocoa trees, and then we saw how it is processed on site. Watch for the little lizards.
Kona Joes tour was a trip through the coffee plant and basically a shopping trip. Don't get me wrong - I was there to by Kona coffee. And I did. It's that good.
The views of the ocean from both were breathtaking.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kona Mocha
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FigmentsGirl
Location: Atlanta
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Date:August 22, 2013
Coffee and Chocolate
This was a good tour combo - coffee and chocolate. The stop at Kona Joe's is interesting as they grow coffee beans differently than anyone else.
The Coopers who run Original Hawaiian Chocolate are a marvelous couple. Mr. Cooper is very well informed about the entire process of growing cocoa beans to the final product of creating GREAT tasting chocolate.
The tour guide (bus driver) was also very well informed and helped to educate us about the big island and what it is like to live in/on Hawaii.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.