NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Kona, Hawaii or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Big Island Snorkel

<!--break--> <p>All aboard to Redhill, a fun and sun destination for the whole family. It’s a snorkeler's paradise – with underwater visibility up to 150 feet and enchanting coral gardens that are home to hundreds of brightly colored tropical fish. Dolphins may follow along as you cruise to your beach destination. </p> <br> <p>Once there you'll find snorkel gear and instruction for those who need it. But that’s not all – there are also flotation toys, a 20-foot water slide and a 15-foot high dive platform. Two extra wide swim platforms make it easy to get in and out of the water. </p> <br> <p> This 4 1/2 hour cruise includes 2 1/2 hours of water time. Continental breakfast, a BBQ beef burger lunch, soft drinks and a no-host premium bar are included. </p> <br> <strong> Note: </strong> To consume alcoholic beverages, guests must be at least 21 years of age. A valid ID is required by law.
Average:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Island Snorkel
Review 1 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Party size: 6
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Family oriented
Date:July 13, 2015
One of the best days on our cruise
This is a very well run excursion. The crew is very professional. The boat is very clean and spacious.
The reef we were taken to (Coral Dome) was wonderful - lots of fish. A sea turtle was seen.
They had a great lunch for everyone. I was surprised they even had a few snorkel masks with prescription lenses. This made my snorkeling even better.
I would go with them again any time.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Self
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Kahului
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:June 18, 2015
Big island review
The food was good, we did see some dolfins, but did not like the snorkling. Water was very deep and very few fish. We saw a lot more fish at Hanauma Bay on Oahu. Would not recommend.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Kona, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:May 9, 2015
Great Time!!
I was apprehensive at first about booking a snorkel tour since I'm afraid of everything that lives in the water but the Body Glove team made the trip an awesome experience. They provide breakfast and lunch, a wonderful boat ride and a great snorkeling experience at a beautiful reef. There is lots to do besides snorkel as well, snuba,scuba, float, slide,etc. They even offer masks for people that are near sided so they can see the reef life! Dustin at the bar was a wonderful host and really made the atmosphere fun! Thanks for a wonderful boat ride and snorkel trip. We definitely will be back again!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: chicago, il
Party size: 5
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: January
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:February 18, 2015
Fun day
While the area we snorkeling was not the most scenic I have snorkeled in, this was a fun tour. The crew was very attentive and helpful and you have plenty of time to snorkel. You can do some snorkeling, have lunch and then go back out. There are slides for those who like to swim. If you wait until after the first rush of everyone, and it is a little less crowded in the water, you will be able to swim among the schools of fish (who seem to scatter when everyone first goes in). Didn’t see much sea life other than fish and on the way back only had one spotting of dolphins but you can’t guarantee what you see. The food was OK, a nice continental breakfast and then lunch. Alcohol drinks are not included while soda, coffee and tea are. You can also sign up for scuba or snuba if you want. I can’t speak about the scuba but for snuba I would recommend doing this as a separate excursion rather than trying to do it here. You don’t get that much snuba time (and there is an extra charge).
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Barcelona, Spain - as a debark (Gem)
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:February 17, 2015
WOW
One of the best snorkel trips ever! We try to snorkel on every cruise & I have to say this was awesome! The crew was helpful, the ship itself was spacious and clean, and the location was one of the best. Many fish to see !
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Party size: 5
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Date:October 20, 2014
This was a great excursion
We traveled with 5 adults. This was a great excursion. The people who ran this were all very friendly and professional. The boat and all equipment was very clean and in good condition. The food provided was good. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The ride to the snorkeling area was very enjoyable - we even got to see an area with a large number of spinner dolphins.
I would recommend this excursion to all - families, kids, and adults. Talking with others on the boat, they all had a great time.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: orange, tx
Party size: 3
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:August 27, 2014
excellent
We loved this excursion. The staff was awesome. There was a medical emergency, and the staff were rock stars in their rapid attention and care. We resumed the excursion as soon as the man was taken to shore. We saw some beautiful fish and coral. Again,I can't praise the staff enough. Would do again in a heartbeat.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:August 8, 2014
Great Experience!
This was my first time snorkeling. The crew were hilarious but took their jobs seriously, explaining protocol and instructions for the actual snorkeling part well. They were always looking to keep you entertained and safe. Breakfast and lunch were both delicious! The water was a little chilly but that's the Pacific for you. I would do this again!
Review 9 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY, USA
Party size: 3
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Kona, Hawaii
Date:April 21, 2014
Nice time in the water
We thought this was a really nice trip. Boat staff were friendly and very helpful with snorkel and snuba instruction and with giving out the swim toys for anyone who may not have been really comfortable in the ocean waves. I used a noodle the whole time because it can be a little strenuous on people who are older or out of shape. The ocean floor views, seeing the marine life and reef, were great. We got to see dolphins too! My niece was a little disappointed that she couldn't go scuba diving because of the limited amount of gear on the ship, but she did snuba instead and was OK with it. It was a nice time.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:January 23, 2014
A great break from the go, go, go
This excursion comes in the middle of the cruise. After having done seven miles of hiking into and out off a volcano crater the day before, this was just what the doctor ordered. We took a nice boat ride out to the snorkel site while eating nicely laid out continental breakfast. We saw whales on the way and the crew went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy.
Once at the snorkel site, the crew got everyone their equipment and went over the safety information. Then it was into the water. We were right on top of a great reef with many varieties of fish to swim alongside. The waterslide on the boat was a complete blast as well. When you had enough of the water it was time to enjoy a great lunch of grilled burgers and hot dogs. They even had veggie burgers if that was your thing.
Drinks were available on the boat, but I would by no means call this a "booze cruise". Just a great day on the water to float around and relax.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite port: Kona, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:December 1, 2013
The BEST Time I had on ALL Islands!!
Body Glove did a Fabulous Job! I had NEVER snorkeled before, I was scared as I don't care for the ocean due to my fear of Sharks! But I would do this a million times over.
They had prescription masks so you could see without your glasses! HUGE HUGE PLUS!!
Their sandwich buffet is Burgers they cook right on the boat! They also provide a Continental breakfast of bagels, toast, danish, muffins and fresh fruit!
Because the salt content in the water is high, you need no flotation device as the buoyancy is out of this world!
BRING SUN SCREEN and if you forget, they do offer it! Bring your Camera! We saw Spinner Dolphins on the way out, then Bottle Nose on the way back! Was a FABULOUS Day!! An employee on the boat was really all about himself. Flexing his muscles, saying how great he was. It was really annoying. Not fun after a while and I began to be repulsed by his arrogance! He had great energy, but his comments about himself and such were not the proper place on this boat.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.