NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(121)
Honolulu(32)
Huatulco(16)
Juneau(84)
Kauai(187)
Ketchikan(22)
Kona(113)
Miami(17)
Newport(4)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(71)
Stockholm(11)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Kona or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Big Island Snorkel

All aboard to Pawai Bay, a snorkeler's paradise! This remote area offers visibility up to 150 feet and enchanting coral gardens that are home to over 600 species of brightly colored tropical fish. Dolphins often follow us as we cruise to our destination. This 4 1/2 hour cruise includes 2 1/2 hours of water time. Snorkel gear, instruction, Rx masks, flotation toys, fresh water showers, a 20 foot water slide, 15 foot high dive platform, his and her restrooms, continental breakfast, buffet sandwich, salad bar, sodas, juices and a no-host premium bar are included. Two extra wide swim platforms make it a cinch to get in and out of the water. This is fun for the entire family, and might just be the best day you'll spend in Hawaii. Note: To consume alcoholic beverages, guests must be at least 21 years of age. A valid ID is required by law.
Average:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Island Snorkel
Review 1 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sophiemom
Location: orange, tx
Party size: 3
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:August 27, 2014
excellent
We loved this excursion. The staff was awesome. There was a medical emergency, and the staff were rock stars in their rapid attention and care. We resumed the excursion as soon as the man was taken to shore. We saw some beautiful fish and coral. Again,I can't praise the staff enough. Would do again in a heartbeat.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaurenBrw
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:August 8, 2014
Great Experience!
This was my first time snorkeling. The crew were hilarious but took their jobs seriously, explaining protocol and instructions for the actual snorkeling part well. They were always looking to keep you entertained and safe. Breakfast and lunch were both delicious! The water was a little chilly but that's the Pacific for you. I would do this again!
Review 3 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris2014
Location: Rochester, NY, USA
Party size: 3
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Kona, Hawaii
Date:April 21, 2014
Nice time in the water
We thought this was a really nice trip. Boat staff were friendly and very helpful with snorkel and snuba instruction and with giving out the swim toys for anyone who may not have been really comfortable in the ocean waves. I used a noodle the whole time because it can be a little strenuous on people who are older or out of shape. The ocean floor views, seeing the marine life and reef, were great. We got to see dolphins too! My niece was a little disappointed that she couldn't go scuba diving because of the limited amount of gear on the ship, but she did snuba instead and was OK with it. It was a nice time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hawaiihappy
Location: Michigan
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:January 23, 2014
A great break from the go, go, go
This excursion comes in the middle of the cruise. After having done seven miles of hiking into and out off a volcano crater the day before, this was just what the doctor ordered. We took a nice boat ride out to the snorkel site while eating nicely laid out continental breakfast. We saw whales on the way and the crew went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy.
Once at the snorkel site, the crew got everyone their equipment and went over the safety information. Then it was into the water. We were right on top of a great reef with many varieties of fish to swim alongside. The waterslide on the boat was a complete blast as well. When you had enough of the water it was time to enjoy a great lunch of grilled burgers and hot dogs. They even had veggie burgers if that was your thing.
Drinks were available on the boat, but I would by no means call this a "booze cruise". Just a great day on the water to float around and relax.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathaleen
Location: Connecticut, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite port: Kona, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:December 1, 2013
The BEST Time I had on ALL Islands!!
Body Glove did a Fabulous Job! I had NEVER snorkeled before, I was scared as I don't care for the ocean due to my fear of Sharks! But I would do this a million times over.
They had prescription masks so you could see without your glasses! HUGE HUGE PLUS!!
Their sandwich buffet is Burgers they cook right on the boat! They also provide a Continental breakfast of bagels, toast, danish, muffins and fresh fruit!
Because the salt content in the water is high, you need no flotation device as the buoyancy is out of this world!
BRING SUN SCREEN and if you forget, they do offer it! Bring your Camera! We saw Spinner Dolphins on the way out, then Bottle Nose on the way back! Was a FABULOUS Day!! An employee on the boat was really all about himself. Flexing his muscles, saying how great he was. It was really annoying. Not fun after a while and I began to be repulsed by his arrogance! He had great energy, but his comments about himself and such were not the proper place on this boat.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mocs
Party size: more
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:August 19, 2013
Best day ever
The catamaran was right by where the ship was so no bus ride :) then we saw spinner dolphins on the way out! Great food great snorkeling and free on your own swim around enjoying the water for two hours! Loved this by far my favorite! Wear sunscreen and have a blast!
Review 7 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mommaof6
Location: Hermiston, Or
Party size: 3
Date:May 14, 2013
YESSSSSSS!
My sis and I jumped in the water and had so much fun. We felt like a couple of kids. The whole crew was safety orientated, but without being pushy about it. They had a slide and a high dive. Don't think this 38 year old kid didn't try the slide, because I did. Was a great time.
For and extra fee they had a sub contractor on board who would take only a few down by " snuba " so we went. Had a blast. We played with sea stars and sea urchins! Only thing missing was the turtles. It was a fun trip.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JillianH
Location: Chicago
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Mexican Riviera
Date:May 6, 2013
Not Worth the $
Do the Zodiak one instead! Or, if you are only going to do 1 on the Cruise, pick Molakani Crater in Maui, WAY better!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
karaokequeen
Location: Chicago
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: February
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:February 26, 2013
This was one of three snorkel excursions my husband and I took. I loved it because I got to snorkel about 2 hours-I was the last one back on the boat. I brought my own wet suit and while they had wet suits for rental most people didn't get one-a mistake because Hawaiian waters get chilly after awhile compared to say Belize. With a wet suit you're fine. Lots of corals-best of trip- and second best fish-big variety saw fish I didn't see elsewhere. You are on your own with ID but it's a game for me of Name That Fish. Didn't see turtles but I saw them other two snorkels. The kids on this boat had a blast with the slide and different floatation toys-very kid friendly. They have continental breakfast and lunch which is OK. And different beverages. They also offered the opportunity to learn SNUBA for an additional fee. I highly recommend this trip if you really want plenty of time to snorkel
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Island Snorkel
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happyhols
Location: Australia
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: August
Date:November 4, 2012
Great trip
What a great trip! The snorkeling was terrific. I would recommend this trip to everyone. Thanks to the crew on Body Glove who looked after us, and fed us, very well. (And for those who get seasick they have an amazing spray that works!)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.