NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo, Hawaii or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Secrets of Puna

<!--break--> <p>On this deluxe tour to the Kilauea volcano, you’ll see how its eruptions have changed the life and landscape of the Big Island, devouring villages and forests, and extending the island’s shoreline. Learn how the residents cope, and how dedicated they are to saving what is precious from the onslaught of molten rock. </p> <br> <p>The lush greenery of Hilo gives way to stark black rock in Kalapana, a village completely destroyed by advancing lava in 1990. Your first stop is the lovely Painted Church. Now decommissioned, it was moved by determined villagers not once but twice, to evade the oncoming flow. You’ll see how the volcano engulfed everything in its path, completely filling in Kaimu Bay, and covering what was the best swimming beach on the island. Fortunately nature has provided a replacement – walk across now hardened stone to the new black sand beach. </p> <br> <p>Continue along the scenic Puna coastline to the jagged lava cliffs of MacKenzie State Park. Your guide knows the location of a volcanically heated cove where you can take a dip or snorkel among tropical fish and the occasional giant green sea turtle. You’ll also visit Lava Tree State Park, once a rainforest that happened to be in the path of a lava flow. The trees burned from the inside out, leaving hollow stone skeletons. Now covered with moss, they make for an eerie panorama. </p> <br> <p>A Hawaiian-style barbecue lunch, which includes complimentary beer and Champagne, is included. There are opportunities to purchase local products and souvenirs along the way. </p> <br> <strong> Note: </strong> Participants must be at least 4 years of age. Tour capacity is limited and the order of the itinerary may change. Molten lava will not be seen. Wear comfortable closed-toe shoes and bring a swimsuit and towel. Special dietary needs can be accommodated with advance notice.
Average:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secrets of Puna
Review 1 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLRob
Location: Huffman, TX 77336, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:July 3, 2014
Best Excursion
We went on 3 excursions on different islands in Hawaii and this one was the best. Our guide, Jordan, was very knowledgeable and you could tell he enjoyed the day as much as we did. The pace was also great as we were able to take a lot of pictures and had time to enjoy the beautiful area.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashkicker
Location: Ohio, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:May 26, 2014
The Secrets have been revealed
Very informative excursion. The sights were great. Swimming in the heated pool was fantastic! Sam, the guide, imparted a lot of local knowledge. As a picky eater, I always fear the food provided. The food was GREAT!!!!!
I did get stuck in the rear of the van and the ride was not that good. Why do the people sitting in the forward seats think they should get in first? They made it hard to get in and out.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Violets
Location: Australia
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Family oriented
Date:April 19, 2014
A fantastic day
We really enjoyed this tour and our guide, Rich, was wonderful. His enthusiasm, passion and knowledge of the area made for a great day. We took our two children and really appreciated how Rich made the tour interesting for them. We loved the snorkelling at the hot spring and the lunch was delicious!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunny1
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:March 16, 2014
Great trip at Hilo!
This was a wonderful trip with something for everyone. Our guide Jesse was born & raised in Hilo and knew so much about this part of the island. He was friendly, very knowledgeable about the history and patiently answered all our questions. We started out driving by the gardens, then to Lava Tree State Park, then swimming in the steaming crystal clear sea water lagoon heated by a lava tube! I really enjoyed just having 7 people on the tour it was much more personable. We then had a huge bbq lunch at the Painted Church with beer & champagne. There was lots of delicious food for everyone. Then off the amazing recent lava flows which was so beautiful and yet so destructive. Great black sand beach! The back to Hilo for a quick shopping stop and back to the ship. Great way to see Hilo & Puna-highly recommend it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Manometmode
Date:March 5, 2014
Secrets of Puna: Great tour and yummy Hawaiian BBQ
My husband and I found this tour to provide all the scenery we'd love to see in Hawai'i. The roaring breakers and gorgeous trees at MacKenzie S.P. were a lovely contrast to the volcanic ashen beach at Kalapana. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. There are so many parts to this tour that children might get worn out, but we found it simply grand. We would not recommend swimming in the lava warmed pool, but we loved wave watching instead..
Review 6 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
southernbelle
Location: Trussville,
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Date:February 13, 2014
Our tour guide, Jordan, was the best!!
Our day was spent in pouring down rain but we made the best of it. The good part was that we saw no other tours. We had everywhere we went pretty much to ourselves. There were 12 of us plus Jordan and we all got along well and had a good time. My favorite was the meal. Jordan grilled us pork ribs and chicken, homemade coleslaw with pineapple (the best I have ever had!) that Jordan made himself, corn, and tomato/cucumber salad. Jordan could teach Norwegian a thing or two about cooking! He grilled it behind the painted church under a covering. The painted church was absolutely breathtaking! I enjoyed it the best of the sites probably because it was the only place I was not being drowned with rain. Jordan was interesting telling us the history of all the sites. He was raised in Hawaii and obviously has a deep love for it. I would recommend this tour even if it is pouring down rain!!!
Review 7 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gail1
Date:January 6, 2014
Our guide was well versed on every thing lava flow. His knowledge of the area was huge. The lunch served was delicious. I always enjoy small local retailers/ vendors on the way which was a plus for me. The hike was an easy walk.
Review 8 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DizztD
Location: Albany, GA, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Honolulu, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:November 2, 2013
lousy transportation
If you take this excursion make sure you don't get stuck in the back of the van. The sights were good. I especially liked the painted church. The BBQ lunch was very good, but the ride to get there was terrible. It was almost impossible to get into the back seat which should not have been in the van in the first place. Maybe you could convince the other riders to rotate seats, we could not. The uncomfortable van made the trip grossly over priced.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoonMom
Location: Orange County, CA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:October 14, 2013
Awesome Excursion!
We loved this excursion. Our first stop was at Lava Tree State Park which was beautiful and fascinating. We stopped at Issac Hale State Park where we relaxed in a pond that is naturally warm and Mackenzie State Park where the ocean views (from the cliffs) are breath taking. We also walked across a lava flow (from a 1990 eruption) about one half mile to a black sand beach. Previous to the eruption the homes on the road were directly across from the ocean but the enormous lava flow filled up the ocean area as far as the eye can see leaving the residents one half mile away from the ocean. We stopped at the "painted church" and then had a delicious BBQ lunch (ribs, chicken, coleslaw, salad, beer, champagne, sodas and water) at a picnic area next to the church. We had an awesome local named Jessie as our tour guide. He was born and raised in
Hilo and has a true passion for the area/ocean. This excursion is not cheap but worth every penny!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.