NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(118)
Honolulu(33)
Huatulco(18)
Juneau(83)
Kauai(182)
Ketchikan(22)
Kona(109)
Miami(17)
Newport(4)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(71)
Stockholm(12)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Secrets of Puna

Experience life on the planet’s most active volcano during this deluxe tour to Kilauea. Meet your guide for the day and board your tour vehicle. The drive to the volcano will take you through Banyan Drive where visiting dignitaries such as Babe Ruth, Cecil B. DeMille, and then-Senator Richard Nixon planted the famed Banyan trees. The drive also takes you past the waterfront Japanese Gardens of Queen Liliuokalani. The lush greenery of Hilo gives way to stark black basalt lava flows in Kalapana, a village completely destroyed by the advancing lava flows just a few years ago. Your first stop is the Painted Church. Now decommissioned, it was moved by determined villagers not once but twice to evade the molten lava flows. Next, you'll walk across the recent lava flows to the newest black sand beach on the island. You'll witness how the volcano engulfed everything in it’s path, even completely filling in Kaimu Bay with molten lava. This walk takes you over what once was the best swimming beach on Hawaii Island. Continue along the scenic Puna coastline to view the jagged lava cliffs of MacKenzie State Park. Then your guide will share a volcanically heated lava cove where you can take a refreshing dip or snorkel looking for tropical fish and the occasional giant green sea turtle. Then, you'll visit Lava Tree State Park to view the incredible lava formations found here. Left behind in a sudden lava flow in 1790, the hot lava cooled around the native Ohia trees in black rock formations that must be seen to be believed. Your return drive will take you through Hilo. A Hawaiian-style barbecue lunch, which includes complimentary beer and French Champagne, is prepared by your guide along the way, and special dietary needs are happily accommodated with advance notice. There are opportunities to purchase local products and souvenirs along the way. Note: Wear comfortable closed-toe shoes and bring a swimsuit and towel. Tour capacity is limited, molten lava will not be seen, and order of itinerary may change. Participants must be at least 4 years of age.
Average:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secrets of Puna
Review 1 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLRob
Location: Huffman, TX 77336, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:July 3, 2014
Best Excursion
We went on 3 excursions on different islands in Hawaii and this one was the best. Our guide, Jordan, was very knowledgeable and you could tell he enjoyed the day as much as we did. The pace was also great as we were able to take a lot of pictures and had time to enjoy the beautiful area.
Review 2 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashkicker
Location: Ohio, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:May 26, 2014
The Secrets have been revealed
Very informative excursion. The sights were great. Swimming in the heated pool was fantastic! Sam, the guide, imparted a lot of local knowledge. As a picky eater, I always fear the food provided. The food was GREAT!!!!!
I did get stuck in the rear of the van and the ride was not that good. Why do the people sitting in the forward seats think they should get in first? They made it hard to get in and out.
Review 3 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Violets
Location: Australia
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Family oriented
Date:April 19, 2014
A fantastic day
We really enjoyed this tour and our guide, Rich, was wonderful. His enthusiasm, passion and knowledge of the area made for a great day. We took our two children and really appreciated how Rich made the tour interesting for them. We loved the snorkelling at the hot spring and the lunch was delicious!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunny1
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:March 16, 2014
Great trip at Hilo!
This was a wonderful trip with something for everyone. Our guide Jesse was born & raised in Hilo and knew so much about this part of the island. He was friendly, very knowledgeable about the history and patiently answered all our questions. We started out driving by the gardens, then to Lava Tree State Park, then swimming in the steaming crystal clear sea water lagoon heated by a lava tube! I really enjoyed just having 7 people on the tour it was much more personable. We then had a huge bbq lunch at the Painted Church with beer & champagne. There was lots of delicious food for everyone. Then off the amazing recent lava flows which was so beautiful and yet so destructive. Great black sand beach! The back to Hilo for a quick shopping stop and back to the ship. Great way to see Hilo & Puna-highly recommend it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Manometmode
Date:March 5, 2014
Secrets of Puna: Great tour and yummy Hawaiian BBQ
My husband and I found this tour to provide all the scenery we'd love to see in Hawai'i. The roaring breakers and gorgeous trees at MacKenzie S.P. were a lovely contrast to the volcanic ashen beach at Kalapana. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. There are so many parts to this tour that children might get worn out, but we found it simply grand. We would not recommend swimming in the lava warmed pool, but we loved wave watching instead..
Review 6 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
southernbelle
Location: Trussville,
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Date:February 13, 2014
Our tour guide, Jordan, was the best!!
Our day was spent in pouring down rain but we made the best of it. The good part was that we saw no other tours. We had everywhere we went pretty much to ourselves. There were 12 of us plus Jordan and we all got along well and had a good time. My favorite was the meal. Jordan grilled us pork ribs and chicken, homemade coleslaw with pineapple (the best I have ever had!) that Jordan made himself, corn, and tomato/cucumber salad. Jordan could teach Norwegian a thing or two about cooking! He grilled it behind the painted church under a covering. The painted church was absolutely breathtaking! I enjoyed it the best of the sites probably because it was the only place I was not being drowned with rain. Jordan was interesting telling us the history of all the sites. He was raised in Hawaii and obviously has a deep love for it. I would recommend this tour even if it is pouring down rain!!!
Review 7 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gail1
Date:January 6, 2014
Our guide was well versed on every thing lava flow. His knowledge of the area was huge. The lunch served was delicious. I always enjoy small local retailers/ vendors on the way which was a plus for me. The hike was an easy walk.
Review 8 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DizztD
Location: Albany, GA, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Honolulu, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Panama Canal
Date:November 2, 2013
lousy transportation
If you take this excursion make sure you don't get stuck in the back of the van. The sights were good. I especially liked the painted church. The BBQ lunch was very good, but the ride to get there was terrible. It was almost impossible to get into the back seat which should not have been in the van in the first place. Maybe you could convince the other riders to rotate seats, we could not. The uncomfortable van made the trip grossly over priced.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoonMom
Location: Orange County, CA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:October 14, 2013
Awesome Excursion!
We loved this excursion. Our first stop was at Lava Tree State Park which was beautiful and fascinating. We stopped at Issac Hale State Park where we relaxed in a pond that is naturally warm and Mackenzie State Park where the ocean views (from the cliffs) are breath taking. We also walked across a lava flow (from a 1990 eruption) about one half mile to a black sand beach. Previous to the eruption the homes on the road were directly across from the ocean but the enormous lava flow filled up the ocean area as far as the eye can see leaving the residents one half mile away from the ocean. We stopped at the "painted church" and then had a delicious BBQ lunch (ribs, chicken, coleslaw, salad, beer, champagne, sodas and water) at a picnic area next to the church. We had an awesome local named Jessie as our tour guide. He was born and raised in
Hilo and has a true passion for the area/ocean. This excursion is not cheap but worth every penny!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Secrets of Puna
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hawaii2012
Date:January 1, 2013
Tour guide was knowledgable...
Our tour guide was definitely knowledgable about the area. Plus he actually displayed a genuine passion and love for the area and his job. Mackenzie State Park did provide a swimming opportunity for families but the swimming area was not in a natural setting. The painted church was definitely beautiful however I was unable to enjoy it due to overcrowding. The tour should not have 2 buses meeting here at the same time. However lunch was the best food we ate! The best experience was Kaimu Bay. It was a unique experience to walk over a lava flow from the 1990s and to see the new beach. Our tour guide went the extra mile to show us a current lava (as close as we could get). The tour in my opinion definitely exceeded capacity - it would have been more enjoyable if our stops did not occur at the same time as another bus.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.