NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo, Hawaii or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Crater Hike & Akaka Falls

<!--break--> <p>This is the ideal excursion for experienced hikers. From dramatic black lava flows to lush rainforests and plunging waterfalls, experience the scenic majesty of Hawaii’s natural landscape as you explore on foot. </p> <br> <p>In Volcanoes National Park, you’ll stride through a lava tube and trek down into a volcanic crater. The four-mile round-trip hike meanders through forests of trees turned to stone, and passes gaping, steaming fissures where lava once gushed over a thousand feet skyward. </p> <br> <p>Visit the Jagger Museum, with its real time seismographs, eruption footage, displays of lava and Hawaiian geology, and an overlook on the steaming vent in the Halemaumau Crater. Stop to admire Akaka, one of Hawaii's most impressive waterfalls, dropping 442 feet over green leafy cliffs into a deep pool below. </p> <br> <p> <strong> Note: </strong> Participants must be at least 10 years of age, experienced hikers, and in good health. The crater hike crosses some rugged sections requiring visual and balance acuity. Switchbacks, stairs, and uneven surfaces will be encountered, as well as highly variable weather patterns. </p> <br> <p>Infants are not permitted, even if carried by adults. Wear sturdy, closed-toe shoes. Due to natural sulfur gases, this tour is not recommended for those with respiratory or heart problems. A light lunch, water, and ponchos are included. An alternative waterfall may be visited depending on weather conditions. </p>
Average:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Review 1 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:August 15, 2015
Awesome Times Two!
We did this tour on our 25th anniversary date because we wanted something extra special and memorable...we got it! Our tour guide, Trevor, was super informed, professional and possessed a witty, dry sense of humor as when he described Hilo as the "Sparta of the Hawaiian Islands." He gave us a great background of Hilo and the Hawaiian islands as well as the truly unique, geological phenomena we were encountering. In short, he was quite "stellar." First, the crater hike was truly awesome. It was so other worldly as if you were walking on the moon. The hike is very challenging. Trevor shephered us down, across and out of the crater giving us time to take it all in and ask questions, but also keeping us on schedule so that we were able to go to a macadamia nut farm and gift shop(Mauna Loa) off the itinerary! The lava tube was also remarkable. Second, the Falls were breathtakingly awesome which is saying a lot when you are in Hawaii because most things there are amazing! We loved the tour, and will always remember experiencing things we never had before and probably never will again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Party size: 6
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: July
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:July 13, 2015
Fun excursion, need good fitness
The scenery here is great. Inside the crater feels a bit like walking on the moon.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and knew the answers to all questions posed to him.
I would agree with the fitness level recommendations. This is not a casual stroll. Getting into the crater was a long hike down many steep stairs. The hike back out was strenuous but invigorating. We are not couch potatoes, but this was still pretty tiring. I would not recommend for elderly parents, or people without good agility.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:April 5, 2015
Great Day Trip
We enjoyed the day - subcontractor was Arnotts Lodge & Hiking Adventures. Excellent commentary. Luckily the day wasn't too hot. A pleasant stroll downhill to the crater thru rainforest, over the rocky crater and up a gradual track back to the main road. I used a walking pole provided which gave extra stability over the rocky crater. There were frequent stops for photo opportunities and talk by our guide - we did not feel rushed at any stage.
A quick walk around the lava tube and back in the bus to the Jagger Museum which was also the lunch stop.
Stopped at the Macadamia factory where there is time to purchase a refreshing macadamia icecream, Back on the bus to the Akaka falls and return to the POA.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: October
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:November 3, 2014
Fun Hiking Excursion
My husband and I did this excursion and it was probably one of our favorites of the trip. It can be a little cool at the beginning of the trip so may not be a bad idea to pack a windbreaker or long sleeve shirt to wear. It warms up once you start hiking down into the crater. Lunch was provided and was a turkey wrap, chips and cookies. If you have any dietary restrictions (gluten free, vegetarian, etc) make sure to let the excursion desk know prior to your excursion so they can make accommodations. We made an additional stop on the way to the falls at the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory. The Kona coffee ice cream was delicious as are the chocolate covered toffee macadamia nuts.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
Beautiful Hike
The crater has to be the most remarkable landscape that I’ve ever walked on. It’s completely desolate. Then you look off in the distance and there is all this greenery. I wish I could have spent the day there. Simply put, it was on the short list for one of my most interesting and enjoyable hikes. You also get time to spend in the visitor’s center, where you can learn more about the park and the crater. Of course, our guide was very well-informed and we had learned much of this in the van on the trip up, or during the hike. Akaka Falls has nothing to do with the Crater. In fact, we drove past the ship on the way to the Falls from the Crater. But the Falls likely is on a lot of bucket-lists for those visiting Hilo, so the tour company quite rightly figures that you’re already in the van, so why not go a bit out of your way and see the Falls.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite port: Santorini, Greece
I want to go here next: South America
Date:September 28, 2014
Great Day Out
The day started off with a ride from the port up to the national park with the volcano. There is a bathroom break before heading up to the hike start. The guide gave us a hiking stick and a poncho (if we wanted them), as well as a bottle of water and a granola bar. The hike was great and the guide stopped at various sections to take pictures. Be sure to dress appropriately and wear sneakers or other study shoes. The hike ended with a quick stop through the lava tube and then a quick stop for lunch at a picnic table. We then made a quick stop at the museum on the way to the Falls. The Falls are beautiful. Be sure to bring your bug spray and use it before entering the Falls area. Overall, it was a very good day out with a great guide.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:September 26, 2014
My favorite excursion on this cruise
This was such a fun day and excursion.
You have a tour guide that takes you down into the Crater Kilauea Iki trail. Once down there, you basically walk a mile and a half across the "frozen lava" and up the other side.
The rocks are a bit difficult if you're not great with balance, but they have walking sticks available for you (just let them know before you start the hike down). I saw some kids doing it so it's not insanely streneous. You do get quite the workout though. You get to see steam vents that are so hot when you put your hand near. Then you get taken to the Volcanoes National Park where you can see the Volcano museum and see Kilauea steaming from afar (the most active volcano on earth). Pretty cool. We had a chance to walk through a lava tube. That was a bit boring. If we did the Volcanoes National Park excursion only, I really would have hated Hilo and been so bored. So happy we went with this one. I was nervous about the hike because of the footing (I'm not awesome with balance) but it was not bad at all. (we're in our early 30s and active). We went to the falls afterwards and that was a nice short hike around. Kind of boring after the crater hike but a nice plus to this excursion. We had time since we did the hike quickly to make an additional not scheduled tour stop. We went to the Mauna Loa Macadamia nut factory and got to sample some nuts and they have an outside seating area where you can get Kona coffee and ice cream with macadamia nuts in it. Totally recommend getting the ice cream. It was so so delicious.
Our tour guide was so nice. I think her name was Katia and she was super fun, young. Very smart. She's studying for marine biology and spoke a lot about history and nature of the island. Very cool. She was always willing to take pictures for you and helped you on difficult rocks on the path. Nice to chat with. Lots of energy. She def made the hike more fun. Thank you to her!
They give you these wraps and chips/cookies and water for lunch. You eat at picnic tables by the beginning of the hike to the crater. Food wasn't great but it was perfect enough to give you energy for the rest of the excursion.
All in all, really fun day. I loved it. Totally worth the money.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:April 22, 2014
Great Hike
This tour has A LOT of hiking and much of it is uphill. It will certainly give you a workout! Be sure to have comfortable shoes.
It was very interesting and I especially liked the lava tube.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nova Scotia
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Self
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:April 9, 2014
Awesome way to visit the crater and falls
Our tour guide Dino was fantastic! Despite the rain, we had a very memorable day touring the crater, falls and a. Couple of other sites. We even made an un scheduled stop at the macadamia nut factory. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. He even stopped at a roadside market to buy apple bananas and other local fruit for us to sample.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: December
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Family oriented
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:December 19, 2013
Great Excursion
This excursion is really worth doing. The hike down to the crater floor was very scenic and our guide was very knowledgeable. The box lunch at the museum was good and the time spent as each location on the tour was just about right. This is a small group tour so there are only about 12 people in a big van. Everyone was entertained by our guide Lauren. You won't be disappointed in this tour.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Crater Hike & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temecula, CA, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Kahului
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:November 29, 2013
A great hike and beautiful ending!
This is a great way to experience a lava tube, a past (hardened) volcanic lava flow first hand, and a beautiful waterfall in one of our nation's state parks. The tour bus held 25 guests and our guide shared a lot about Hawaii along the 40 min trip to the Volcano State Park. The hike begins with a walk through a lava tube (cave) and a lush forest, then you hike downhill into a crater through a lush forest, walk over lava rocks, stand over the top of active steam vents, experience breathtaking views of how the lave flows changed the terrain, learn a lot of history from your guides, climb back out of the crater (a physical climb, but on paths the whole way. Then, travel to Akaka Falls (stopping at the Moana Loa macadamia nut factory...opportunity to purchase gifts...just okay). The Akaka Falls area was stunning! Lush, green, moist, and easy to walk (concrete path). Great picture opportunity. This is a good occurs ion, but you could rent a car and do it for less $$ on your own, without the historic narration.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.