NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(6)
Boston(2)
Halifax(5)
Hilo(119)
Honolulu(29)
Huatulco(18)
Juneau(84)
Kauai(197)
Ketchikan(21)
Kona(115)
Miami(16)
Newport(3)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(76)
Stockholm(11)
Sydney(2)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Circle of Fire Helicopter

See Earth's most geologically active environment, the Kilauea Volcano, on a thrilling helicopter ride. This remarkable 45-minute flightseeing tour emphasizes the current areas of volcanic activity. Fly over Kilauea's most recent eruption sites and follow the surface activity down to the devastated village of Kalapana. View lava flows, the Puna Forest and black-sand beaches, which were formed by lava that was cooled by water. In the course of your tour, you'll receive an informative commentary from your tour guide/pilot over an individual headset. Note: Guests 250 lbs. and over are charged an additional rate to reserve two seats for safety and comfort. These spaces are capacity controlled. You will not be able to book this option online. Please call 1.866.625.1167 for assistance with these reservations. This tour is non-refundable once booked. If confined to a wheelchair and able to transfer to a lift, please visit the Shore Excursion Desk once onboard to make proper arrangements.
Average:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Review 1 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drwong
Date:June 23, 2014
Great Pilots try to get you shots
Our pilot tried to get us the shots we were looking for from the air and made sure everyone in the helicopter was able to see everything. He went above and beyond to get us shots of everything we wanted. I would recommend this to anyone and tell them to have Ethan fly them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scott89081
Location:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:June
Cruise Date Year:2014
Favorite activities:Educational
Date:June 23, 2014
Wonderful Trip!
This was our first time flying in a helicopter and Collen did a wonderful job of making us feel safe while explaining everything there was to see. She made sure that everyone in the helicopter was able to see everything even if she had to fly back around several times to get the view that was needed. She was very informative, professional, and friendly the entire time we were in the air. We did see lava flows - not lava gushing out of the crater, but it was flowing. Best way to see an active volcano.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starla0313
Location:Ashdown, AR 71822, USA
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:May
Cruise Date Year:2014
Favorite activities:Adventure
Favorite port:Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next:Alaska
Date:May 15, 2014
Only way to see lava!
If you want to see lava this is the only way! We thought about a bus tour but for only $50 more per person we realized the helicopter would be the only way to get us close enough to see the lava flowing. The bus can only get you to see the steam! We were on our honeymoon just married in Maui the day before! My husband and I both were lucky enough to get to sit in the copilot seat! We had an awesome pilot Scott! He educated us on Hawaii,the volcanoes and their destruction during our flight. We flew over the volcano and saw the lava bubbling out of the ground, lava tubes, trees burning down from the current destruction, waterfalls, the coastline and our ship. We also purchased the $25 video of our flight. This was money well spent to watch a natural disaster as it is currently happening...very educational as well as entertaining!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tripster
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Party size:2
Date:January 8, 2014
Very disappointing/would not recommend
The trip describes seeing the lava flows-there are none & haven't been any for a long time. There is a seat facing backwards. I was assigned that seat and saw almost nothing, plus it was very crowded in the back. Would not recommend this trip -- not as described and no value for the cost. Would not recommend Paradise Helicopter. Took Blue Hawaii helicopter in Kauai and it was excellent.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mike123456
Party size:1
I traveled with:Self
Cruise Date Month:October
Cruise Date Year:2013
Date:October 29, 2013
Awesome way to see the island
Great staff on the ground and in the air. Regular narration during the hour-long flight, frequent passes of key locations for both sides of the helicopter. Definitely recommended. Flight was smooth and reasonably quiet withe the sound-canceling headphones. I usually get airsick easily, but took a Dramamine in advance and had no problems.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Mar
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Party size:8
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:July
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Family oriented
Favorite port:Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next:Bermuda
Date:August 12, 2013
Great trip and felt safe!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have to say this was one of the best excursions! We saw the whole island and our guide was very knowledgable!! They start it off by giving you an educational/safety video at the airport then suit you up with packets of life jackets just in case and head out. they even give you a darker shirt to wear if you have on bright colors or white so when you take a photo it does not reflect back in and your clothes would ruin most of your shots. Flight was great! and got a good shot of the boat as came back in to land from the air! there are other companies out there that do tours that some looked to be a little cheaper! Don't take them! just 2 days before we went out for the ride one of those crashed due to low gas! don't take the risk! PLus you can buy a cheap dvd of your entire ride and what you saw and talked about! the quality is not the best but totally worth the $25!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OLDLADY
Location:CHICAGO
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:June
Cruise Date Year:2013
Date:June 26, 2013
AWESOME
I'M AN OVER 70 OVERWEIGHT GRANDMA WHO
WAS HESITANT ABOUT THIS EXCURSON, BUT
IT WAS GREAT. SEAT WAS ROOMY - I NEVER
FELT INSECURE - THE PILOT WAS VERY
FRIENDLY AND HAD SO MUCH INFO. SAW A
CHUNK OF LAVA FALL INTO THE OCEAN - WAS
JUST AS EXCITED AS SEENING A CHUNK OF
ICEBERG FALL IN. FLIGHT WAS SMOOTH AND
WAS SO MUCH FUN. SENIORS - TRY IT
YOU'LL LIKE IT!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Circle of Fire Helicopter
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanfromNJ
Location:Voorhees, NJ
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:December
Favorite activities:Adventure
Date:December 13, 2012
Lava flow amazing
We highly recommend booking this tour as it was definitely one of the highlights of our cruise. After a small shuttlebus with a charismatic driver named Vincent took us to the airport, we were escorted to the briefing room for our safety training prior to boarding the helicopter. If you go on this tour, I suggest you request the ECOSTAR, the more modern helicopter with an excellent safety rating. Our pilot Adam was very good at choosing the best locations to take us. We quickly soared up through the clouds to 3000 feet as we headed for the coast and the lava rock. Adam explained history of this island and how everything changed in 1983 with the eruption of one of the volcanoes. It has been active ever since with fairly steady lava flows into the sea. When we reached the coast we were pleasantly surprised with seeing a small quantity of orange color lava flowing into the sea and launching excessive amounts of steam from the water when the lava touched it. Although the lava was hard to see because of the steam, I was able to get a couple of camera shots.
Adam then took us to the next part of the tour where we actually got to see a live eruption of a pool of lava in what appeared to be something close to 50 foot in diameter. I captured some of this on video, but the helicopter camera caught an excellent video of this phenomenon. We then saw some other lava flows and were taken to the couple of waterfalls, but nothing compared to the lava pool. On the way back to the airport we flew by the port and saw our ship from the air and took some more photos. Upon landing, we purchased the video custom-made for our helicopter trip for an extra $25.00.
29 of 29 people found this review helpful.