NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(108)
Honolulu(23)
Huatulco(20)
Juneau(93)
Kauai(176)
Ketchikan(22)
Kona(112)
Miami(13)
Newport(3)
San Juan(20)
Skagway(80)
Stockholm(11)
Sydney(2)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo or
Choose a destination

Product Reviews

Volcano & Rainbow Falls

Your tour begins with a scenic short drive to Wailuku River State Park and Rainbow Falls. The 80-foot falls cascade into a circular pool at the base of the Wailuku River. Your adventure continues to the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens where you’ll visit one of the largest orchid collections on display in Hawaii. You’ll have a chance to purchase seedling souvenirs that have already been agriculturally inspected so you can take a little bit of Hawaii home with you. Then, take an approximately 60-minute drive to Volcanoes National Park, where 70 million years of volcanic history are on display. Here, you can admire the remarkable view of Kilauea Volcano, the earth's most active volcano. Trace the birth of the Hawaiian Islands when you visit the Jaggar Museum, where you'll view Halema`uma`u Fire Pit. You'll also have the opportunity to walk through the Thurston Lava Tube before a visit to Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory. Note: Please be advised that while at Volcanoes National Park, you may encounter natural sulfur gases which can affect those with respiratory problems and you won't see molten lava. Thurston Lava Tube is not wheelchair accessible due to uneven pathways and steps. An additional optional shopping stop may be provided. A boxed lunch will be provided for you to enjoy throughout the excursion.
Average:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 11(82%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Review 1 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
parrice
Location:York, PA, USA
Party size:1
I traveled with:Self
Cruise Date Month:January
Date:January 20, 2014
Fair
The lava tube was very interesting. Our bus driver was great. But the on the bus off the bus got to be old after a while. Rainbow falls was beautiful. The macadamia nut factory was a waste of time. You couldn't see anything. The shop was expensive. You could go to Walmart & get the same thing cheaper. Orchard display was pretty but it would have been nice if someone talked to you about orchards. Just another tourist trap. This was a very long trip. 7 1/2 hrs. The best part was the interesting bus driver.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
besmurfy
Location:VA, USA
Party size:1
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:September
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Adventure
I want to go here next:Europe
Date:October 5, 2013
Very nice tour!
We liked the variety of this tour. We went to alot of sites and saw so many cool things! This tour would be good for anyone! Our bus driver was really funny too.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perrycpa
Location:Perry, GA
Party size:4
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:September
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Educational
Favorite port:Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next:Europe
Date:September 23, 2013
Fascinating Tour
This involves some serious walking in and out of the crater so it’s not for someone not in decent shape. Also, if you are uncomfortable walking in high places, you will be miserable. That being said, it was one of the best tours of my Hawaiian vacation. It is fascinating to walk through the crater and feel steam escaping through vents. The visuals are astounding but you will have to stop and look most of the time because the terrain requires you to watch where you are going so you won’t fall. There are no soft spots in the crater so you have to be careful. If you are interesting in volcanoes, don’t miss this tour.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PugMom
Location:Kalamazoo MI
Party size:1
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:May
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Educational
Favorite port:Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next:Europe
Date:August 16, 2013
Dissapointing
If you enjoy being at retail shops, this one is for you. If you want to enjoy the uniqueness of the Hawaiian island-volcanoes, try another source. We spent very brief, rushed time at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. However, when it came to going to the macadamia factory gift shop or the orchid store, we were given ample time. Very rushed at the sites we wanted to see. When I expressed my displeasure to the bus driver, he shrugged and said "you'll see plenty". Would not recommend this to anyone that wants to learn about the uniqueness of Hawaii.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maganini
Date:April 24, 2013
Fascinating Tour
This was a great tour we took last week. The large bus was very comfortable and we embarked on another scenic excursion with the very knowledgeable guide narrating the entire trip giving us valuable information on the Island. The park and falls were beautiful and we had lots of time to explore and take photos. The trip to the orchid gardens was also great and we saw some gorgeous orchids and walked among the fragrant flowers. We also stopped at a nut factory and got some delicious samples of various macadamia nut treats. It was nice to be able to sample the treats to see if you wanted to buy them.
The trip to the volcanoes national park was wonderful and we had ample time to walk along volcanic rocks, check out the hot steam vents and walk through the lava tube. Truly a most fascinating volcanic site we wouldn't have wanted to miss. It's great to be taken to these destinations and get information on what we are about to see. The history given on these tours is invaluable.
40 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vanilla
Location:FL
Party size:4
I traveled with:Friends
Cruise Date Month:April
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Educational
I want to go here next:Europe
Date:April 20, 2013
worst excursion
take this excursion only if you like long, long bus rides(5hrs total) with nothing much at the end.
rainbow falls is slightly more interesting than the crater, but not much.
Other later tours with more active volcanoes were much better.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HenFamily
Location:Michigan
Party size:5
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:February
Cruise Date Year:2013
Favorite activities:Adventure
Date:February 25, 2013
Relaxing day
This was a good experience but not great. It was well planned and organized and we enjoyed it however, it was a little dry for our two children (8 and 10) and I think we all fell asleep on the bus ride between stops. Overall, it was worth it for the Volcanoes National Park views alone. Bring a jacket!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stellakl
Location:S.E. Pennsylvania
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:January
Date:February 7, 2013
Falls were disappointing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Don't miss Volcanoes National Park or the Lava Tube! As for the falls, I was expecting more of the type you see on TV. It was nice, just not what I expected. The Orchid Gardens - I never knew there were so many types, but if you're not into them..... As for Macadamia nuts - I'm not a nut person. I probably should have just stayed with a tour of Volcanoes National Park.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danorge
Location:Vancouver, BC
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:April
Cruise Date Year:2011
Favorite activities:Adventure
Favorite port:Castries, St. Lucia
I want to go here next:Caribbean
Date:January 24, 2013
Land of volcanoes, orchids and waterfalls
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We tried to compress all the highlights of Hawaii's East Coast in a few hours shore excursion. And I think we did it. Active geology at the Kilauea Observatory, exquisite flora in Akatsuka Orchid Garden as well as awesome lava formations and the famous Thurston Lava Tube located in a superb tropical forest. Rainbow falls is impressive.The cherry on the cake was literally the visit to Macadamia Nut Factory where we had the opportunity to taste amazing flavours.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LGolding
Location:Atlanta, GA
Party size:2
I traveled with:Family
Cruise Date Month:March
Date:June 21, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Nice big bus, great guide, and good sites to see. A full day that started with a ride to Rainbow Falls with ample time to walk around for photos then off to the Volcanoes National Park. The walk through the lava tube was great! We had light rain when we reach the crater and it spoiled the view but the visitors center was nice. Then a stop at the Mauna Loa nut factory (outside tour, small cup of sample nuts and store) Inside the Mauna Loa store you can get more samples and buy goodies to take home. Then a stop to the Orchid farm with was just a greenhouse with lots of beautiful orchids. I would recommend this tour to a first timer to be able to see a lot of area in one day.
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enthusiastic
Location:Beltsville, MD
Party size:1
I traveled with:Self
Cruise Date Month:June
Cruise Date Year:2011
Date:June 10, 2012
Volcano National Park - terrific
I live on the east coast, so the volcano's in the park were a real treat!.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.