NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(5)
Hilo(122)
Honolulu(30)
Huatulco(18)
Juneau(83)
Kauai(194)
Ketchikan(21)
Kona(117)
Miami(17)
Newport(4)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(72)
Stockholm(11)
Sydney(2)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo or
Choose a destination

Product Reviews

Volcano & Rainbow Falls

Your tour begins with a scenic short drive to Wailuku River State Park and Rainbow Falls. The 80-foot falls cascade into a circular pool at the base of the Wailuku River. Your adventure continues to the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens where you’ll visit one of the largest orchid collections on display in Hawaii. You’ll have a chance to purchase seedling souvenirs that have already been agriculturally inspected so you can take a little bit of Hawaii home with you. Then, take an approximately 60-minute drive to Volcanoes National Park, where 70 million years of volcanic history are on display. Here, you can admire the remarkable view of Kilauea Volcano, the earth's most active volcano. Trace the birth of the Hawaiian Islands when you visit the Jaggar Museum, where you'll view Halema`uma`u Fire Pit. You'll also have the opportunity to walk through the Thurston Lava Tube before a visit to Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory. Note: Please be advised that while at Volcanoes National Park, you may encounter natural sulfur gases which can affect those with respiratory problems and you won't see molten lava. Thurston Lava Tube is not wheelchair accessible due to uneven pathways and steps. An additional optional shopping stop may be provided. A boxed lunch will be provided for you to enjoy throughout the excursion.
Average:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 13(69%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Review 1 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nikkorray
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Party size: 9
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:July 3, 2014
Okay if you like bus tours
If you have elderly people in your group then this tour would be okay for them. We wanted to go on this tour mainly to see Volcano National Park. Since the volcano wasn't really active (just steam vents) it was kind of a downer for us. Although we knew that it wasn't active while signing up for the excursion. I was disappointed that we did not have enough time at Rainbow Falls (only 20 minutes). The kids wanted to explore the 'back' of rainbow falls and we were about 5 minutes late getting back to the bus which drew some snark comments from the other passengers. The Orchid Nursery was good but we spent more time there than Rainbow Falls. Our tour bus guide did a pretty good job of describing the area and throwing in some tour guide humor which made some of the longer parts of the ride bearable.
The tour of the Mauna Loa Macadamia Farm was pretty good but again… not enough time. There was a 30 minute tour of the facilities but you will be in a time crunch if you wanted to see that and get back on the bus again without irritating the other passengers.
To be fair, our group was more on the adventurous side and only wanted to see the Volcano National Park. If your more the leisurely type who likes to be on a schedule then this may be the right tour for you.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
airportbabe
Location: Dallas
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:May 19, 2014
Not enough volcano time, Too much shopping time
The bus driver very funny with his ‘canned’ commentary but he was not friendly or personable at all when trying to visit with him. Overall, the focus and reason I took this trip was to see the volcanos and national park. I felt very short-changed in this area, with far too much attention given to the shopping stops and not near enough time spent at the volcano points of interest.
Orchid Nursery: 30 minutes. WAY too much time. Very disappointed. Not like an orchid garden, but rather a greenhouse nursery like one would see at a K-mart or Walmart. Note: it was a shopping stop. More time was given at shopping stops than at the volcano areas which was the focus of the trip.
Rainbow Falls: 15 minutes. About the right amount of time. Not much to see other than the falls, very little walking required to see the falls.
July 1974 lava stop: Too short of time. We were only given 10 minutes. It takes almost that long just to unload the people off the bus. Very interesting terrain to explore but didn’t have enough time to really look around.
Steam Vents: 15 minutes. Much too short of time. Interesting area that could have used twice the amount of time.
Caldera Stop: 30 minutes. Once you take a picture or two, there’s not much to see. Museum was too crowded to enjoy.
Macadamia Nut Factor: 30 minutes. About the right amount of time as there was more to see than just the shop. The grounds here were much more interesting than the Orchid Nursery
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erika198027
Location: Staten Island, NY, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: South America
Date:May 13, 2014
Great relaxing day!
This tour is up you alley if you are looking to let someone else drive and show you the important spots in Hilo. My husband and I did this tour because all the other days we were driving on our own or doing a physical activity. This tour allowed us to sit back, nap on the bus, and see the important volcano sights. You want to book a tour with the ship on the days you leave port early; don't want to miss the boat, and the tour will make sure you make the ship. The tour guide was great, especially because he was local and had a better insight to the area from living there. I found we had a sufficient amount of time at the stops. And make sure you get the ice cream at the nut factory, so worth waiting on the line.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oztravelgirl
Date:April 24, 2014
A great volcano experience
This was an easy day out at the volcano without much walking. We got great views of the volcano (quite close) and walking on the lava flow was a great part of the trip. The Rainbow Falls were beautiful. Walking through the lava tube was easy. I get claustrophobia but it was really large inside and they gave you plenty of time to walk down into the valley to the tube so you didn't need to rush. I would recommend this trip to everyone who wants to get the whole volcano experience without the difficult hike. A must in Hawaii!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
parrice
Location: York, PA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Self
Cruise Date Month: January
Date:January 20, 2014
Fair
The lava tube was very interesting. Our bus driver was great. But the on the bus off the bus got to be old after a while. Rainbow falls was beautiful. The macadamia nut factory was a waste of time. You couldn't see anything. The shop was expensive. You could go to Walmart & get the same thing cheaper. Orchard display was pretty but it would have been nice if someone talked to you about orchards. Just another tourist trap. This was a very long trip. 7 1/2 hrs. The best part was the interesting bus driver.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
besmurfy
Location: VA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:October 5, 2013
Very nice tour!
We liked the variety of this tour. We went to alot of sites and saw so many cool things! This tour would be good for anyone! Our bus driver was really funny too.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perrycpa
Location: Perry, GA
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:September 23, 2013
Fascinating Tour
This involves some serious walking in and out of the crater so it’s not for someone not in decent shape. Also, if you are uncomfortable walking in high places, you will be miserable. That being said, it was one of the best tours of my Hawaiian vacation. It is fascinating to walk through the crater and feel steam escaping through vents. The visuals are astounding but you will have to stop and look most of the time because the terrain requires you to watch where you are going so you won’t fall. There are no soft spots in the crater so you have to be careful. If you are interesting in volcanoes, don’t miss this tour.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PugMom
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:August 16, 2013
Dissapointing
If you enjoy being at retail shops, this one is for you. If you want to enjoy the uniqueness of the Hawaiian island-volcanoes, try another source. We spent very brief, rushed time at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. However, when it came to going to the macadamia factory gift shop or the orchid store, we were given ample time. Very rushed at the sites we wanted to see. When I expressed my displeasure to the bus driver, he shrugged and said "you'll see plenty". Would not recommend this to anyone that wants to learn about the uniqueness of Hawaii.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maganini
Date:April 24, 2013
Fascinating Tour
This was a great tour we took last week. The large bus was very comfortable and we embarked on another scenic excursion with the very knowledgeable guide narrating the entire trip giving us valuable information on the Island. The park and falls were beautiful and we had lots of time to explore and take photos. The trip to the orchid gardens was also great and we saw some gorgeous orchids and walked among the fragrant flowers. We also stopped at a nut factory and got some delicious samples of various macadamia nut treats. It was nice to be able to sample the treats to see if you wanted to buy them.
The trip to the volcanoes national park was wonderful and we had ample time to walk along volcanic rocks, check out the hot steam vents and walk through the lava tube. Truly a most fascinating volcanic site we wouldn't have wanted to miss. It's great to be taken to these destinations and get information on what we are about to see. The history given on these tours is invaluable.
42 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vanilla
Location: FL
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:April 20, 2013
worst excursion
take this excursion only if you like long, long bus rides(5hrs total) with nothing much at the end.
rainbow falls is slightly more interesting than the crater, but not much.
Other later tours with more active volcanoes were much better.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HenFamily
Location: Michigan
Party size: 5
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: February
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:February 25, 2013
Relaxing day
This was a good experience but not great. It was well planned and organized and we enjoyed it however, it was a little dry for our two children (8 and 10) and I think we all fell asleep on the bus ride between stops. Overall, it was worth it for the Volcanoes National Park views alone. Bring a jacket!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stellakl
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Date:February 7, 2013
Falls were disappointing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Don't miss Volcanoes National Park or the Lava Tube! As for the falls, I was expecting more of the type you see on TV. It was nice, just not what I expected. The Orchid Gardens - I never knew there were so many types, but if you're not into them..... As for Macadamia nuts - I'm not a nut person. I probably should have just stayed with a tour of Volcanoes National Park.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Volcano & Rainbow Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Danorge
Location: Vancouver, BC
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2011
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Castries, St. Lucia
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:January 24, 2013
Land of volcanoes, orchids and waterfalls
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We tried to compress all the highlights of Hawaii's East Coast in a few hours shore excursion. And I think we did it. Active geology at the Kilauea Observatory, exquisite flora in Akatsuka Orchid Garden as well as awesome lava formations and the famous Thurston Lava Tube located in a superb tropical forest. Rainbow falls is impressive.The cherry on the cake was literally the visit to Macadamia Nut Factory where we had the opportunity to taste amazing flavours.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.