NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Hilo, Hawaii or
Choose a destination

Product Reviews

Volcano & Akaka Falls

<!--break--> <p>Enjoy a day of scenic splendor and natural beauty, from the lush surroundings of Akaka Falls to the dramatic landscape of Volcanoes National Park and an astonishing variety of tropical orchids </p> <br> <p>Your tour begins with a drive though historical Hilo as you travel along the Hamakua Coast to Akaka Falls. The 442 feet falls plunges over a volcanic ledge surrounded by lush rainforest. A loop trail, just under a mile will lead you to past Kahuna Falls as you head to the breathtaking view of Akaka. You’ll also visit Akatsuka Gardens, the perfect place to appreciate beautiful tropical orchids that come in a stunning assortment of shapes, sizes, colors and patterns. </p> <br> <p>A one-hour drive transports you to a very different scene in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, where 70 million years of volcanic history are on display. Admire the remarkable view of Kilauea, the world’s most active volcano. Learn about the birth of the still growing Hawaiian Islands at the Jaggar Museum where you'll view the Halemaumau Crater – in Hawaiian mythology said to be home to Pele, Goddess of Fire and Volcanoes. </p> <br> <p>You'll also have the opportunity to walk through the extinct Thurston Lava Tube, a cave formed by a river of lava. A visit to the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory completes your tour. A boxed lunch will be provided. </p> <strong> Note: </strong> Please be advised that while at Volcanoes National Park, you won't see molten lava, but may encounter natural sulfur gases that can affect those with respiratory problems. Thurston Lava Tube is not wheelchair accessible due to uneven pathways and steps. An additional optional shopping stop may be made.
Average:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 of 12(67%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Review 1 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuman3
Date:July 27, 2015
Excellent
This excursion was one of the better ones we took on our Hawaii Vacation. The falls were amazing, actual rainbows were formed. The trip to Volcano National Parks was breathtaking. Made all the better by our guide Captain Rob!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wpooh1968
Location: Savannah, GA
Party size: 3
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite port: St. John's, Antigua
I want to go here next: Bermuda
Date:May 13, 2015
Amazingly Beautiful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Very well organized and timed tour. Jane as our guide was amazing. We first visited the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut factory. Plenty of time to tour and shop. We made several stops within the Volcano National Park and were fortunate to be there at the rare time to view lava eruptions. The visits to lava tube, steam ports, lava fields and crater views were perfect. The orchid farm was beautiful and interesting. Akaka Falls was more of a level two walk, but the falls were easily viewed without the trek down steep steps. The extra drive through Hilo and the park was a perfect end to the day. I would highly recommend this tour.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DesertRat
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Date:May 11, 2015
Skip the falls
This is a very long day, mostly spent on the bus. The driver was entertaining, but not the reason I went to Hawaii.
The Akaka Falls are OK, but they are out of the way. You only have about 30 minutes here and it adds 2 hours to the entire trip.
The Volcano part of the tour hits the major points. You stop at Kilauea Crater and you get to hike the Lava Tube (easy hike), but you only get 20-30 minutes at each stop.
The trip includes one shopping stop for Macadamia nuts and one shopping stop for orchids.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLDatlanta
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: South America
Date:April 7, 2015
Highlight of my trip!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
First of all, I have never really written a review before so bare with me please!
I had the absolute best time on this excursion, and definitely think it was well worth the money. Not only did I get to hike the world's most active volcano (who does that?!?!) but I got to see some lava tubes, and the absolutely stunning Akaka Falls. I was a solo traveler on this excursion (my friend is handi-capable :) but she can't hike) and so I was a bit nervous to go alone. I was so surprised by the differences in all the ages. I had people my age (we were the under 30 club) and there were people with families, and grandparents. Everyone was so mystified by everything we saw that it didn't really matter that I didn't know anyone prior to the start of the hike. Everyone was so nice and inclusive. The best part about this tour (aside from the beauty of the places) was definitely the tour guide, Trevor. He was very funny yet professional and he really new his stuff. You could tell that he had done his homework and could answer nearly all of the questions we threw at him, and there were a LOT of questions. He let me and a few of the young guns go at our pace and explore while we waited for some of the others to catch up while keeping us all in a controlled environment. I feel like I learned more on this tour than I did on all of my other excursions combined. So if you get to do this tour, I hope that you get to do it with Trevor; he made the experience great!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nikkorray
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Party size: 9
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: June
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:July 3, 2014
Okay if you like bus tours
If you have elderly people in your group then this tour would be okay for them. We wanted to go on this tour mainly to see Volcano National Park. Since the volcano wasn't really active (just steam vents) it was kind of a downer for us. Although we knew that it wasn't active while signing up for the excursion. I was disappointed that we did not have enough time at Rainbow Falls (only 20 minutes). The kids wanted to explore the 'back' of rainbow falls and we were about 5 minutes late getting back to the bus which drew some snark comments from the other passengers. The Orchid Nursery was good but we spent more time there than Rainbow Falls. Our tour bus guide did a pretty good job of describing the area and throwing in some tour guide humor which made some of the longer parts of the ride bearable.
The tour of the Mauna Loa Macadamia Farm was pretty good but again… not enough time. There was a 30 minute tour of the facilities but you will be in a time crunch if you wanted to see that and get back on the bus again without irritating the other passengers.
To be fair, our group was more on the adventurous side and only wanted to see the Volcano National Park. If your more the leisurely type who likes to be on a schedule then this may be the right tour for you.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
airportbabe
Location: Dallas
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Date:May 19, 2014
Not enough volcano time, Too much shopping time
The bus driver very funny with his ‘canned’ commentary but he was not friendly or personable at all when trying to visit with him. Overall, the focus and reason I took this trip was to see the volcanos and national park. I felt very short-changed in this area, with far too much attention given to the shopping stops and not near enough time spent at the volcano points of interest.
Orchid Nursery: 30 minutes. WAY too much time. Very disappointed. Not like an orchid garden, but rather a greenhouse nursery like one would see at a K-mart or Walmart. Note: it was a shopping stop. More time was given at shopping stops than at the volcano areas which was the focus of the trip.
Rainbow Falls: 15 minutes. About the right amount of time. Not much to see other than the falls, very little walking required to see the falls.
July 1974 lava stop: Too short of time. We were only given 10 minutes. It takes almost that long just to unload the people off the bus. Very interesting terrain to explore but didn’t have enough time to really look around.
Steam Vents: 15 minutes. Much too short of time. Interesting area that could have used twice the amount of time.
Caldera Stop: 30 minutes. Once you take a picture or two, there’s not much to see. Museum was too crowded to enjoy.
Macadamia Nut Factor: 30 minutes. About the right amount of time as there was more to see than just the shop. The grounds here were much more interesting than the Orchid Nursery
31 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erika198027
Location: Staten Island, NY, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Lahaina, Maui
I want to go here next: South America
Date:May 13, 2014
Great relaxing day!
This tour is up you alley if you are looking to let someone else drive and show you the important spots in Hilo. My husband and I did this tour because all the other days we were driving on our own or doing a physical activity. This tour allowed us to sit back, nap on the bus, and see the important volcano sights. You want to book a tour with the ship on the days you leave port early; don't want to miss the boat, and the tour will make sure you make the ship. The tour guide was great, especially because he was local and had a better insight to the area from living there. I found we had a sufficient amount of time at the stops. And make sure you get the ice cream at the nut factory, so worth waiting on the line.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oztravelgirl
Date:April 24, 2014
A great volcano experience
This was an easy day out at the volcano without much walking. We got great views of the volcano (quite close) and walking on the lava flow was a great part of the trip. The Rainbow Falls were beautiful. Walking through the lava tube was easy. I get claustrophobia but it was really large inside and they gave you plenty of time to walk down into the valley to the tube so you didn't need to rush. I would recommend this trip to everyone who wants to get the whole volcano experience without the difficult hike. A must in Hawaii!
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
parrice
Location: York, PA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Self
Cruise Date Month: January
Date:January 20, 2014
Fair
The lava tube was very interesting. Our bus driver was great. But the on the bus off the bus got to be old after a while. Rainbow falls was beautiful. The macadamia nut factory was a waste of time. You couldn't see anything. The shop was expensive. You could go to Walmart & get the same thing cheaper. Orchard display was pretty but it would have been nice if someone talked to you about orchards. Just another tourist trap. This was a very long trip. 7 1/2 hrs. The best part was the interesting bus driver.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
besmurfy
Location: VA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:October 5, 2013
Very nice tour!
We liked the variety of this tour. We went to alot of sites and saw so many cool things! This tour would be good for anyone! Our bus driver was really funny too.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perrycpa
Location: Perry, GA
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: September
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Hilo, Hawaii
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:September 23, 2013
Fascinating Tour
This involves some serious walking in and out of the crater so it’s not for someone not in decent shape. Also, if you are uncomfortable walking in high places, you will be miserable. That being said, it was one of the best tours of my Hawaiian vacation. It is fascinating to walk through the crater and feel steam escaping through vents. The visuals are astounding but you will have to stop and look most of the time because the terrain requires you to watch where you are going so you won’t fall. There are no soft spots in the crater so you have to be careful. If you are interesting in volcanoes, don’t miss this tour.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Volcano & Akaka Falls
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PugMom
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: May
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Nawiliwili, Kauai
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:August 16, 2013
Dissapointing
If you enjoy being at retail shops, this one is for you. If you want to enjoy the uniqueness of the Hawaiian island-volcanoes, try another source. We spent very brief, rushed time at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. However, when it came to going to the macadamia factory gift shop or the orchid store, we were given ample time. Very rushed at the sites we wanted to see. When I expressed my displeasure to the bus driver, he shrugged and said "you'll see plenty". Would not recommend this to anyone that wants to learn about the uniqueness of Hawaii.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.