NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(121)
Honolulu(32)
Huatulco(16)
Juneau(84)
Kauai(187)
Ketchikan(22)
Kona(113)
Miami(17)
Newport(4)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(71)
Stockholm(11)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Costa Maya, Mexico or
Choose a destination

Product Reviews

Beach Getaway

Enjoy Costa Maya's most popular beach club, where white endless beaches combined with fun activities makes for an enjoyable beach day. This Caribbean getaway is just a short journey from the busy pier and its surroundings. Upon arrival, your host will give you a quick orientation of the area and facilities available to you. This tour includes an open national bar, beach volleyball, beach chairs, a lively beach party, games for children and kayaks. A beautiful restaurant, souvenir store and additional water sports are available at an extra cost, plus there’s great snorkeling straight off the beach. This is a one stop beach destination. A regular shuttle service lets you choose how long you wish to stay. Shuttle service is dependent on transportation availability and runs approximately every 90 minutes. Restrooms/changing room facilities and freshwater showers are available. We recommend that you bring insect repellent. Note: Guests must be at least 21 years of age to consume alcohol. Guests with recent surgeries, heart or respiratory conditions are not allowed to participate.
Average:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 of 7(43%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beach Getaway
Review 1 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JerShar
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: April
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:April 9, 2013
Seaweed and non-alcoholic drinks!
This is our 2nd excursion trip to this beach in 2 years. This excursion was on April 2nd 2013. Your trip begins with a 45 minute ride to the beach (and a 45 minute ride back to port too). The buses have a/c and are nice, and the drivers do a great job to miss the potholes. Not much to see on the way except a lot of wetlands and undeveloped areas.
When you arrive, it appears that you are in the middle of nowhere, and yes, you are! There is only this self contained beach area with open bar, merchandise, and snacks.
First, the good!
The beach... very nice. Plenty of room and chairs to relax in.
Restrooms....very nice. (and staffed too?!)
Staff... very nice.
The bad!
Open bar....horrible. If you enjoy a little bit to zero alcohol then you will enjoy the open bar. I watched them mix up several drinks and they use very little alcohol so you get mostly 'mix'. Last trip here, the drinks were fine, so maybe there's an alcohol shortage or something.
The beach...seaweed and rocky. The beach hadn't changed since last trip, and we had hoped the owners of this beach would have cleared the water of a lot of rocks and seaweed by now. So, If you enjoy rustic waters you will enjoy this, just be careful of sharp rocks and seaweed just a few feet into the water. Not a good snorkeling excursion.
Finally, there are only two return buses, 1pm and 3pm. The Roatan beach excursion has returns every 1/2 hour beginning at 1pm to 3pm. Much more flexibility.
Bottom line, if your cruise goes to Roatan, I highly recommend that beach excursion.
58 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Argo
Location: London, Ontario (Canada)
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: February
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Educational
Favorite port: Cozumel, Mexico
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:March 31, 2013
Relaxing getaway
First of all, we found that Norwegian really dropped the ball on organization for this tour. The meeting time on the ship was 10:30, but the bus didn’t leave until 11:20, so we only got to the beach at noon. (Also – and this is a problem we found the entire time on the ship – there were no bottles of water for sale as you left the ship. On every other cruise line we’ve sailed, that’s a given – you don’t have to worry about forgetting to bring some from your room, because you know you can pick some up on the way off the ship, but apparently this isn’t standard procedure for Norwegian.)
The beach itself – the “Jungle Beach Club” – was quite nice, but had pros and cons.
The pros were:
1. There was plenty of place to relax on lawn chairs, in the sun or under nice shady trees.
2. All the drinks were free – and they certainly didn’t skimp on the alcohol! – and the servers were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. One young man basically ran up and down the beach all day fetching drinks so people didn’t have to get up and walk all the way to the bar (lol), and the young lady in the washroom tried her best to teach me a few basic phrases in Spanish.
3. The food at the outdoor BBQ was delicious, and very well priced.
4. We didn’t go swimming, we just lazed about on the lawn chairs, but we spoke with a man who said that the snorkelling out by the man-made reef (basically a construction of wooden pylons and a deck a couple hundred feet offshore) was pretty good, with lots of tropical fish.
The cons were:
1. The beach itself is quite small, and there was lots of grass in the water.
Also, and this is either a pro or a con depending on your point of view – there were several vendors walking up and down the beach, selling everything from jewelry to conch shells. All of them were quite friendly and not pushy, though.
Basically, this shore excursion was a positive experience, but would have been much better if the departure had been better organized.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cruisinslow
Date:March 6, 2013
Bugs
Overall the beach wasn't a bad place. The unlimited drinks was a highlight. However, the beach was infested with biting flies. I had 17 bug bites (everything from fingers to arms to ankles -- any uncovered part of me got bit), and the people I traveled with got bit. The seaweed on the shores was very thick and uncomfortable to walk through, though this made it an ideal place to spot sea creatures. Bug repellent didn't help enough and the bus A/C could have been better. I highly recommend you spend as little time near the bars, as all the patio areas seem to be the places the flies like to hang out with the most. A week after being bit and they're still worse than any mosquito bites I've ever encountered. Be forewarned!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarkH1278
Date:February 24, 2013
Fun and Relaxing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Had a great time here. Long bus ride (about 40 minutes). When we arrived it was like a different world! The beach was amazing and had an open bar. Kayaks were available and free. There was music and even covered massage tables on the beach. Cost for a massage was $30 per half hour but what an experience! There are plenty of comfortable lounge chairs and lots of places in the shade if you like. Will do this again one day!
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CajunTravelers
Location: louisiana
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: December
Cruise Date Year: 2012
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Cozumel, Mexico
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:February 23, 2013
Resort.. Really?
First off they use the term "Resort" very loosely. The bus ride was very quiet there. The driver did not really talk about the area or sites along the way. After what seem to be close to an hour bus ride, you come to the "resort" The beach was nice after you got past the cloudy water, some people went snorkeling pretty far out I noticed. The beach was clean and they did have a young man cleaning it up throughout the day. They did have a place to change clothes and a shop selling cheap trinkets. They did keep the drinks flowing throughout the day, if you tipped the server. There were people coming around selling stuff and we did buy a very nice silver chain for a really good price. We did have to talk him down a bit though. Without the open bar this trip would have not been very fun!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NJwilson
Location: Stoughton, Wi
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: January
Favorite activities: Family oriented
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:January 24, 2013
Peaceful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This was a nice quiet beach. We felt comfortable leaving our bags on our chairs while we snorkeled. The water was warm and clear. We snorkeled right off the beach and saw eels, star fish, crabs and other fish. The open bar was nice and they had people coming around asking you what you'd like to drink. My favorite was the "Costa Maya" a watermelon flavored delight! My son liked the local tap beer -" Dos equis". They have a grill going and a small souvenir area. It was about a 35 minute bus ride from port.The bus will get you back in plenty of time to look around port.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Beach Getaway
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fun: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adventurous: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
imperatrice
Location: Oregon
Party size: more
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: November
Favorite port: Belize City, Belize
Date:November 26, 2012
Not worth it
I was not impressed with this beach club. The water had a lot of grass in it so it wasn't very nice to swim. Drinks were free but had to buy food. All the snorkeling equipment was gone by the time our bus got there. Pick something else.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.