NCL Ratings and Reviews

Astoria(7)
Boston(2)
Halifax(6)
Hilo(119)
Honolulu(33)
Huatulco(18)
Juneau(83)
Kauai(182)
Ketchikan(22)
Kona(110)
Miami(17)
Newport(4)
San Juan(21)
Skagway(71)
Stockholm(12)
Tampa(1)
Browse destinations at NCL
Belize City, Belize or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing

A 37 mile drive up the Western Highway brings you to the Nohoch Chen Archaeological Park, your headquarters for the day. Your first activity is the ZipRider, a zipline tour through the rainforest. The zipline features an intricate harness system of pulleys on horizontal traverse cables which lets you glide 100-750 feet between platforms up to 120 feet high in the trees at canopy level. After being fitted into the safety harness, the next 30 to 40 minutes are spent zipping through a series of 7 zipline runs from 10 jungle platforms – a truly unforgettable experience! Following lunch, your next adventure is cave tubing. You’ll be issued your tube, headlights and safety gear before hiking through the rainforest to the entrance of the cave system. Once at the entrance of the caves your guide will brief you on safety procedures. Now it’s time for your cave tubing adventure through the ancient Maya underworld – Xibalba. Intricate crystalline formations line the cave and stalagmites and stalactites magically appear out of the darkness. On several occasions, you'll emerge into the sunlight only to enter into another cave system. Note: Participants must be at least 12 years of age and weigh at least 95 lbs. and no more than 250 lbs. The cave system and its waterways may cause claustrophobia in a very small percentage of guests. Not recommended for pregnant women. Wear a swimsuit, tennis shoes (which will get wet) or water shoes and bring a towel.
Average:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Review 1 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrysalisClover
Location: NC
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Other
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:November 18, 2014
Zipline Adventure and Cave Tubing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Guides Edmund and Alio on the bus provided local information along the way and kept the cats herded. River guide Andy loved the cave and the river and his job and it showed. Be aware that a shore excursion limits your time and so you won't get to do as long a time in the river as non-cruise visitors get to do. Equipment and practices rival stateside zip-tours I've done. Lunch was more than ample. Do taste the wines. Don't expect to love them. Bus got a flat on the way back, Got transferred to another bus from a partner attraction with time to shop and tender back to the ship (not even on the last tender).
Review 2 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CCanter
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:May 6, 2014
Great Day in Belize!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Note that this excursion is a level 3. Be prepared to hike about 45 minutes through the jungle while carrying your tube and climb a good number of stairs up the ziplining platforms. If you're in decent shape though, this is a GREAT excursion! The underground cave system is unbelievable. It's a slow float trip (don't expect many rapids) but very interesting and beautiful, while the ziplining is absolutely thrilling! There is no doubt that this excursion will make for a great day in Belize!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hickabilly
Location: West Plains, MO, USA
Party size: 6
Date:April 9, 2014
Worth the drive
March 2014-My husband and I love vacations that keep us on the go. We can't sit in one place for too long so this excursion was great for us. There was an expected 30-45 min. ride to the site. Our guide, Edgar, made the time pass quickly by educating us on the area. Once at the sight we were put into groups of 8 and geared up for tubing. We had a 30 min. or so walk through the forest. We did carry our tubes but that was not a problem. I really didn't pay attention to time because I was enjoying the scenery. Once at the caves, our tubes were tied together and our tubing guide (Sam, I believe) worked his tail off pulling us. (I did feel bad for him because it had to be exhausting but he never let on) Next we sat down for lunch, that went smoothly, there were plenty of tables and chairs and we didn't have to wait in line. Next we headed over to the zip lines. Again you have a hike and quite a few stairs but it was worth it. I had zip lined before in St. Louis and we went from tree stand to tree stand, on this course those stairs take us above the tree tops on the first zip. It was beautiful. I would recommend that you be in fairly good condition. We were told by one of the guides that we would burn 2000 calories on this excursion. I thought it was a joke before hand but afterwards I felt like I had.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Doyouphilme
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: February
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:February 25, 2014
Worthwhile Excursion
Definitely had my reservations about doing two different activities in one port. There is quite a bit of activity for this excursion so I wouldn't recommend this if you cannot walk far distances and have a huge fear of heights.
Luckily, we went in February when the weather was in the 70's. Thank goodness, I couldn't imagine walking 30-45 minutes to get to the cave tubing in 100 degree weather. Would probably be unbearable.
Also, I didn't realize we would have to carry our own tubes for such a long duration of time. Also we have to cross 3 rivers along the way to get to the cave. Not too difficult. Others in the group struggled but we eventually managed to get to the caves. We were all connected in groups of 8 while our guide pulled us along what seemed to be a "lazy river". She told us some info about the caves. I was in the back of the pack so I couldn't hear her that well so I really don't know much about the caves. The only drawback was our lights on our helmet were really not that strong so we couldn't really see as well as our guide's light. After we exited the cave, we got to float along the river and enjoy a nice relaxing tube ride.
After cave tubing, we had a short trek back to the main area where we had an island lunch for about 30-45 minutes. Pretty delicious for what it's worth.
After lunch, we did zip lining. We were first which I think was a good thing because I hear that some people struggled and caused a backup as people had trouble getting in the harness or climbing the stairs (the first set of stairs is the steepest but after which it's pretty decent). What they don't tell you is that if you aren't tall, you have to jump to get connected to the harness lines of each zipline. You go through about 7 zip lines and see some pretty scenic views. The only thing you need to remember is not to HOLD onto the break line. I did that in one of the lines and had to pull myself to the end (as I stopped 4/5 of the way). Big mistake on my end since I have no upper body strength and made my muscle ache afterward.
I would highly recommend this for someone seeking some adventure but can handle a little strenuous activity.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusanR
Location: Allentown, PA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Date:November 26, 2013
My favorite excursion ever!
You do not need to be a star athlete but you do need to be in good physical condition. You will be taking some steep stairs up the mountain and platforms and afterward, hiking about 35 minutes over a rocky path to the cave. That being said this excursion is so totally worth it! Our guide Edgar was non-stop in explaining every detail possible about Belize, the people, land, economy, etc. from the time we got on the bus until we got off. The guildes were all exceptional in making you feel totally safe. Unless you have an absolutely paralyzing fear of heights, you can do this. It's a blast! Then you have a nice island style lunch and can change for the cave tubing. The entire time we hiked to the cave, Edgar again was pointing out any wildlife,insects or medicinal plants explaining how they are used making it a nice eco-tour. The cave tubing was fun, we were connected in groups of 8 and Edgar pushed us around the turns through the cave. Then we tubed down the lazy river to the drop off point. It was a fantastic day. I highly recommend this excursion for anyone looking for a little adventure.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bkh88
Party size: 4
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Belize City, Belize
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:July 29, 2013
Best Excursion
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
We had the best guide. Starting from our bus ride out to our adventure, Edgar kept us entertained and informed!! He was wonderful! The Staff was professional and helpful. The lunch was great! The hike to the river was easy and the float was amazing. Best time you'll have. As Edgar told us, you will have an Un-Belize-able day!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live2Travel
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: February
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:February 24, 2013
Great adventure but be prepared.
I agree with a previous reviewer who felt this should be an activity level 3, not an activity level 2. I am over 50, overweight and short. Not a great combination for this excursion.
To begin you have a 30-45 min drive each way to the caves. Our guide, Edgar, was great. He shared a lot of information about Belize and had a great sense of humor. He made the drive enjoyable.
I was prepared for the 45 minute hike for the cave tubing but was not prepared for the multitude of stairs you have to hike in the heat in order to reach the top of the ziplining. Most people struggled with this portion as well. To add to the difficulty, you have to jump and pull yourself up so they can attach you to the gear. When you are short and have no upper body strength, it is extremely difficult to get your waist up to a 5 foot high level in some cases. Had I known this, I probably would have skipped the ziplining portion. As difficult as it was, it was great fun and took me out of my comfort level which was the goal.
After ziplining we were plenty hungry and had a great lunch. Then we took our tubes and hiked for about 45 mins to the start of the cave tubing. I was prepared for this portion of the excursion and had little trouble but there were others in the group that struggled. It was about 90 degrees out and really helped when I took off the life vest for the walk as it was adding to the heat. You walk through the river 3 times before getting to the beginning of the tubing and that will cool you down during the walk. We got the see howler monkeys and the walk was gorgeous. Our guide was very informative and a joy to listen to. The caves are beautiful and the tubing was relaxing and a great way to cool down after the ziplining. I would suggest taking a waterproof camera on this portion as we have no pictures of the beautiful jungle and wildlife we saw.
Overall it was a great adventure and I'm glad we did it. I had no trouble with other level 2 activities we did but this one was difficult. If you are in better shape and/or taller than 5 ft, you should be fine. I would definitely recommend this excursion for those who can handle the physical side of it.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PURPLEBOY
Location: New York, NY
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Self
Cruise Date Month: February
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Belize City, Belize
I want to go here next: Canada and New England
Date:February 20, 2013
Best Excursion of Cruise
If you want a relaxing day, this is not the tour for you. If you want adventure and activity, it is. It's called Level 2 but I would call it Level 3. Try to do the ziplining first because you will be sweatyand the cave tubing is more refreshing. The only difficult part of the ziplining is two brief hikes and that you have to jump in the air to get hooked in but this is well worth it. We did 7 zips, some of them as long as 600-700 feet. it was exhilarating. Then we broke for lunch which was decent and then on to the cave tubing. I elected not to switch to water shoes and that was a mistake. Not only will your shoes get wet but they will smell of the river. My mistake. You will have to walk in thigh deep water to get to the other side of the river and then a 45 minute walk to get to the tubes. This was probably the most exhausting part of the day so be ready for it especially in the heat after ziplining. Most everyone does the cave tubing in tandem where you can just lay in the tube and do nothing. However my group of 7 wanted to freestyle and so for better or worse I had to as well. It was a workout because you have to backstroke alot. In the end I was happy we did that..good exercise and the people floating in tandem seemed jealous of us. First you are in a cave and then outside along the river. Fortunately we had come full circle and were then only 5 minutes away from where to catch the bus and boat back to ship. It was a long day but well worth it and we still had a half hour to shop (there's a chocolate factory right by the boat. Great day and well worth the money.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ncisrael
Date:January 1, 2013
Fun
A great time. The walk to the launch point for the tubing is about 15 minutes. It is across an uneven bed of river rocks. Just be prepared.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.