NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Belize City, Belize or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing

<!--break--> <p>Adventure at its Best! Zip through the lush Belizean jungle and then tube through the ancient caves of the Maya in the Cave Branch River. Take a guided ride to Jaguar Paw Outpost where on arrival your skilled guides will assist you with renting lockers and water shoes and then you’ll be fitted with your gear and given a safety briefing. </p> <br> <p>You’re now ready for your zipline adventure through a lush tropical rainforest on 5 thrilling traverses and after, you’ll tube through the ancient Maya caves. Certified cave tubing guides will recount the history and rituals of the Maya who settled in these caves. Enjoy a Belizean lunch as you reflect upon your experience. </p> <br> <strong> Note: </strong> Participants must be at least 8 years of age and weigh at least 95 lbs. and no more than 250 lbs. The cave system and its waterways may cause claustrophobia in a very small percentage of guests. Guests with neck or back, mobility problems and pregnant women are not allowed to participate. Wear a swimsuit, tennis shoes (which will get wet) or water shoes and bring a towel. Shorts must be worn on the zipline portion of this tour. Leave jewelry and valuables on the ship. Travel time is approximately 1 1/4 hours each way.
Average:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Review 1 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Party size: 6
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:April 3, 2015
definitely worth the money
This tour was insanely busy as there were 4 ships in port that day. We were the last group but had an amazing guide that worked to make sure we didn't miss out on any of our tour. I strongly suggest buying the tour through NCL as we were an hour late getting back to the ship. Had we not bought through them, we would have been left behind.
Our tour guide, Ivor with Chukka tours made this trip all that it was. He was so unbelievably knowledgeable. He was so sincere and deeply cared about not only our enjoyment and safety but our curiosity as well. He was able to tell us so much about Belize and answered the many questions we had along the way.
This tour had a little bit of everything, beauty, history, culture and adventure. I feel as though I definitely got my money's worth. The lunch was delicious, the zip lines were higher and longer than I had imagined/was prepared for, the cave was more beautiful than I had anticipated, and the ride to and from the resort allowed for a lot of the city to be seen.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, NC, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:April 3, 2015
A great day!
I will start by telling you the only bad thing about this excursion. It was the only time on my cruise that I felt as if I were in an American amusement park. There were so many people at this location when we arrived that our guide, Ivor, had trouble figuring out which activity we were supposed to do first. We ended up eating first. The beans and rice cooked in coconut milk were very tasty, as was the coleslaw. We don't eat meat, and the server was glad to give us extra beans and rice to compensate for the roasted chicken. Then we went ziplining, where we stood in a long, slow moving line. It was interesting just being in the rain forest and talking with others in line with us, but this is where I felt I was in an American amusement. Once we got to the first cable, it was over quick - zoom, zoom, zoom! Then we were on to cave tubing. It was also quite congested in the cave - we were broken down into groups of 8, and it was difficult to hear our soft-spoken leader over some of the other louder leaders who floated nearby. Someone made our picture as we entered the water, but I never figured out how to see the photo, much less purchase it. Both experiences were awesome, and I don't really know how they could improve on them unless they limited the number of folks coming through, but if you don't like crowds or long lines, this excursion may not be for you. The bus ride there and back was very educational. Ivor was an excellent guide. I would love to go back to Belize and try some of the less-popular excursions.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:March 9, 2015
Wasn't too into this one!
My friend and I are both 23 years old and were not too impressed with this excursion. You have to take an hour and a half bus ride to the place (which isnt too bad on the way there because the tour guide entertains the entire trip). Our tour guides were Big Bruce and Edward. They kept us laughing the entire time. Once we got to the place, we ziplined first. You go through a 10 minute instruction period and then ride about 5 different ziplines. After that, we walked almost a mile to the cave entrance (Keep in mind: I am 23 and in shape and STILL died on this walk because you have to carry your own tube the entire way). Once we got into the cave, we could not hear our instructor due to his monotone voice. So, we definitely did not get to hear anything about the history inside the cave. It was also quite cold inside the cave. The water was freezing but felt good after the long and tiring walk. I had a tank top and shorts on and was quite uncomfortable with the temperature of the air in the cave (would recommend a thin, long-sleeved t-shirt if you are cold blooded). Once we completed the cave tubing, we got to eat, which was quite tasty. The alcohol was not free but the Pina Colada we had was amazing. They also allow you to bring your food and drinks onto the bus for the long ride back. Overall, I wouldn't choose to do this excursion again, but if you like a lot of moving around and new things, you might enjoy it.
Review 4 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2015
Highlight of cruise!
Had an awesome time on this tour! Elvis was amazing as a guide and his knowledge and passion made the long bus ride an integral part of the tour, rather than just a means of getting from point A to point B. I was traveling alone, but never felt like it. He kept everybody engaged and as a result, everyone interacted with each other far more than other tours I have taken. The zipline wasn't a huge rush for me (I'm a skydiver, so it was a little tame for me), but it was still fun. The rainforest itself, however, was magnificent. I took this cruise/tour in mid-December 2014. Had so much fun, I am doing it again next week...including this tour.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014
Amazing Tour
Firstly, be prepared to have this excursion take up your entire day. We left at 8:30 am and didn't get back until 4:15 pm, which was time to head back to the tender boats to leave. The bus ride is about an hour and 20 minutes in itself each way. The tour guide we had, Elvis, was wonderful and made the excursion priceless! He was extremely knowledgable about Belize and made us all feel so welcome! He was also extremely hilarious and genuine. The tour itself was pretty cool. The zip line was only 5 lines though, it says 7 here. They allow cameras so definitely make sure to bring it to record your fun! The cave tubing was awesome and definitely worth it, bring water shoes though otherwise you have to pay to rent them. Also, be prepared to pay for a locker rental once you get there. After the tour, we got a free lunch and it was absolutely delicious! They also have drinks available for purchase and other food as well. Definitely try Belizian beer! I would definitely do this tour again if it didn't take a whole day and 3 hours in a bus.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington, D.C., DC, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Belize City, Belize
I want to go here next: Bahamas and Florida
Date:December 1, 2014
Best excursion of our cruise.
Elvis and his team of tour guides were amazing. They made the long drive from port to the site fun, entertaining, and educational. I learned so much more about Belize than I ever expected to. It was a personal tour with heart.
The activities were great and well paced. I'm visually impaired so the dark cave presented some challenges but the guides were so helpful with everyone who needed an extra hand. And zip-lining was the rush of a lifetime. Also, the lunch was the best meal we ate all cruise! Would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone going to Belize.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Other
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:November 18, 2014
Zipline Adventure and Cave Tubing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Guides Edmund and Alio on the bus provided local information along the way and kept the cats herded. River guide Andy loved the cave and the river and his job and it showed. Be aware that a shore excursion limits your time and so you won't get to do as long a time in the river as non-cruise visitors get to do. Equipment and practices rival stateside zip-tours I've done. Lunch was more than ample. Do taste the wines. Don't expect to love them. Bus got a flat on the way back, Got transferred to another bus from a partner attraction with time to shop and tender back to the ship (not even on the last tender).
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
Party size: 2
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:May 6, 2014
Great Day in Belize!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Note that this excursion is a level 3. Be prepared to hike about 45 minutes through the jungle while carrying your tube and climb a good number of stairs up the ziplining platforms. If you're in decent shape though, this is a GREAT excursion! The underground cave system is unbelievable. It's a slow float trip (don't expect many rapids) but very interesting and beautiful, while the ziplining is absolutely thrilling! There is no doubt that this excursion will make for a great day in Belize!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Plains, MO, USA
Party size: 6
Date:April 9, 2014
Worth the drive
March 2014-My husband and I love vacations that keep us on the go. We can't sit in one place for too long so this excursion was great for us. There was an expected 30-45 min. ride to the site. Our guide, Edgar, made the time pass quickly by educating us on the area. Once at the sight we were put into groups of 8 and geared up for tubing. We had a 30 min. or so walk through the forest. We did carry our tubes but that was not a problem. I really didn't pay attention to time because I was enjoying the scenery. Once at the caves, our tubes were tied together and our tubing guide (Sam, I believe) worked his tail off pulling us. (I did feel bad for him because it had to be exhausting but he never let on) Next we sat down for lunch, that went smoothly, there were plenty of tables and chairs and we didn't have to wait in line. Next we headed over to the zip lines. Again you have a hike and quite a few stairs but it was worth it. I had zip lined before in St. Louis and we went from tree stand to tree stand, on this course those stairs take us above the tree tops on the first zip. It was beautiful. I would recommend that you be in fairly good condition. We were told by one of the guides that we would burn 2000 calories on this excursion. I thought it was a joke before hand but afterwards I felt like I had.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: February
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Favorite activities: Adventure
Date:February 25, 2014
Worthwhile Excursion
Definitely had my reservations about doing two different activities in one port. There is quite a bit of activity for this excursion so I wouldn't recommend this if you cannot walk far distances and have a huge fear of heights.
Luckily, we went in February when the weather was in the 70's. Thank goodness, I couldn't imagine walking 30-45 minutes to get to the cave tubing in 100 degree weather. Would probably be unbearable.
Also, I didn't realize we would have to carry our own tubes for such a long duration of time. Also we have to cross 3 rivers along the way to get to the cave. Not too difficult. Others in the group struggled but we eventually managed to get to the caves. We were all connected in groups of 8 while our guide pulled us along what seemed to be a "lazy river". She told us some info about the caves. I was in the back of the pack so I couldn't hear her that well so I really don't know much about the caves. The only drawback was our lights on our helmet were really not that strong so we couldn't really see as well as our guide's light. After we exited the cave, we got to float along the river and enjoy a nice relaxing tube ride.
After cave tubing, we had a short trek back to the main area where we had an island lunch for about 30-45 minutes. Pretty delicious for what it's worth.
After lunch, we did zip lining. We were first which I think was a good thing because I hear that some people struggled and caused a backup as people had trouble getting in the harness or climbing the stairs (the first set of stairs is the steepest but after which it's pretty decent). What they don't tell you is that if you aren't tall, you have to jump to get connected to the harness lines of each zipline. You go through about 7 zip lines and see some pretty scenic views. The only thing you need to remember is not to HOLD onto the break line. I did that in one of the lines and had to pull myself to the end (as I stopped 4/5 of the way). Big mistake on my end since I have no upper body strength and made my muscle ache afterward.
I would highly recommend this for someone seeking some adventure but can handle a little strenuous activity.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Allentown, PA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2013
Date:November 26, 2013
My favorite excursion ever!
You do not need to be a star athlete but you do need to be in good physical condition. You will be taking some steep stairs up the mountain and platforms and afterward, hiking about 35 minutes over a rocky path to the cave. That being said this excursion is so totally worth it! Our guide Edgar was non-stop in explaining every detail possible about Belize, the people, land, economy, etc. from the time we got on the bus until we got off. The guildes were all exceptional in making you feel totally safe. Unless you have an absolutely paralyzing fear of heights, you can do this. It's a blast! Then you have a nice island style lunch and can change for the cave tubing. The entire time we hiked to the cave, Edgar again was pointing out any wildlife,insects or medicinal plants explaining how they are used making it a nice eco-tour. The cave tubing was fun, we were connected in groups of 8 and Edgar pushed us around the turns through the cave. Then we tubed down the lazy river to the drop off point. It was a fantastic day. I highly recommend this excursion for anyone looking for a little adventure.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.