NCL Ratings and Reviews

Browse destinations at NCL
Belize City, Belize or
Choose a destination
Top Rated

Product Reviews

Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing

<!--break--> <p>Adventure at its Best! Zip through the lush Belizean jungle and then tube through the ancient caves of the Maya in the Cave Branch River. Take a guided ride to Jaguar Paw Outpost where on arrival your skilled guides will assist you with renting lockers and water shoes and then you’ll be fitted with your gear and given a safety briefing. </p> <br> <p>You’re now ready for your zipline adventure through a lush tropical rainforest on 5 thrilling traverses and after, you’ll tube through the ancient Maya caves. Certified cave tubing guides will recount the history and rituals of the Maya who settled in these caves. Enjoy a Belizean lunch as you reflect upon your experience. </p> <br> <strong> Note: </strong> Participants must be at least 8 years of age and weigh at least 95 lbs. and no more than 250 lbs. The cave system and its waterways may cause claustrophobia in a very small percentage of guests. Guests with neck or back, mobility problems and pregnant women are not allowed to participate. Wear a swimsuit, tennis shoes (which will get wet) or water shoes and bring a towel. Shorts must be worn on the zipline portion of this tour. Leave jewelry and valuables on the ship. Travel time is approximately 1 1/4 hours each way.
Average:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)guests would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Review 1 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
Date:April 23, 2016
Unique, but crowded and rushed
First, I have to say that our guides, Sydney and Elio were fantastic! We learned so much about Belize during our drive out to the cave. I got a little concerned when I saw a school bus arrive to drive pick us up, but it is tricked out like a charter bus. So don't worry! Our group was very, very big and it was really rushed when we got to the site. Wear your suit and water shoes!! It will save you lots of time and anxiety. You should also eat a snack on the bus. You need to carry your tube to the cave, so if you have mobility issues, this is NOT a trip for you.
The cave itself was really cool...but extremely crowded. I think there are at least three tour companies pulling larger groups through the cave. You are tied to the tubes of the rest of your group and the guide pulls you through. Once you are in the cave, the echoing of all the guides narrating their tours makes it hard to hear, and you can not feel the essence of the cave. Elio knew tons about the geology and history of the cave and worked hard to find quiet places to share information. I was disappointed with the chaos.
Ziplining was OK, but I have experienced faster lines in Costa Rica. But if this is your first zip lining experience, you will love it! We were way, way behind the rest of our group because of a guest who had very limited mobility and should not have been on the excursion. When we returned to camp for lunch, we had 15 minutes to change, eat, and use the restrooms. Not enjoyable and frustrating. You can take the food on the bus...do it!! It was delicious.
Overall, I am glad I went. But it was very touristy and I think our group was too large.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Caribbean
Date:April 11, 2016
Bring a Snack & Lose Your Fear of Heights
My teens and I LOVED this excursion except for the fact that the included "lunch" was served around 2:30pm, so bring a snack to eat in between cave tubing and ziplining. Several other moms and I shared the same sentiment and were worried about our kids eating later while doing strenuous activity in the heat.
Our hosts, Bruce and Jasmine, are very proud of their country and shared a lot of their personal stories with us, which helped educate us about their country's history and way of life. It is a bit over an hour bus ride out to the site, so you also could eat a snack on the bus if you prefer.
You can avoid wearing the rented water shoes and be more comfortable on your nature walk to the entrance to the caves by just bringing along a pair of older tennis/gym shoes you don't mind getting wet and changing into dry ones for the zip lining part of the excursion. Bring dollars/cash if you are going to rent a locker or shoes as that will make your morning check in easier. You won't have a lot of time to shop and see your excursion photos at the gift shop so be sure to grab a card that shows you were to find your photos post-excursion online.
It was a wonderful, warm educational, day to burn a few calories consumed on the cruise ship!
Review 3 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2016
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Belize City, Belize
I want to go here next: Hawaii
Date:March 20, 2016
Un-Belize-Able !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My fiancé and I had so much Fun. This excursion was worth the money, and my favorite thing about our cruise and spring break. The cave was so beautiful, and it felt like a once in a lifetime experience. The bus ride was about an hour, but it was a nice ride, our tour guide, Saul was very informative of Belize as we drove to the site. There is a fee for renting lockers and another fee for water shoes. I wore my own water shoes but my fiancé had to rent a pair. Once there, everyone on the bus was broken up into groups of 8 people. My group went cave tubing first. The water was refreshingly cool after hiking for about half an hour. The hike really wasn’t bad, I loved it. It was a chance to see and learn more of Belize from our amazing tour guide. The ground is quite rocky so my feet were kind of getting beat up from having on thin water shoes. The zip line went by quick, it’s a great zip line for beginners, as they are not as fast nor high as others. Very enjoyable. The food at the end of the tour was great. My group was the last group so we were rushed to get back on the bus by the time we had gotten our food. We did eat our food on the bus and also we were able to bring our “Belikin” beers on the bus too, purchased from the bar. The pictures taken were expensive to purchase, more expensive than any other excursion charged for pictures. This was the only flaw of the whole tour. I wasn’t expecting this. I still recommend this excursion, just bring your own water shoes, and a camera with a waterproof case :-)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Party size: 6
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Date:April 3, 2015
definitely worth the money
This tour was insanely busy as there were 4 ships in port that day. We were the last group but had an amazing guide that worked to make sure we didn't miss out on any of our tour. I strongly suggest buying the tour through NCL as we were an hour late getting back to the ship. Had we not bought through them, we would have been left behind.
Our tour guide, Ivor with Chukka tours made this trip all that it was. He was so unbelievably knowledgeable. He was so sincere and deeply cared about not only our enjoyment and safety but our curiosity as well. He was able to tell us so much about Belize and answered the many questions we had along the way.
This tour had a little bit of everything, beauty, history, culture and adventure. I feel as though I definitely got my money's worth. The lunch was delicious, the zip lines were higher and longer than I had imagined/was prepared for, the cave was more beautiful than I had anticipated, and the ride to and from the resort allowed for a lot of the city to be seen.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, NC, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Europe
Date:April 3, 2015
A great day!
I will start by telling you the only bad thing about this excursion. It was the only time on my cruise that I felt as if I were in an American amusement park. There were so many people at this location when we arrived that our guide, Ivor, had trouble figuring out which activity we were supposed to do first. We ended up eating first. The beans and rice cooked in coconut milk were very tasty, as was the coleslaw. We don't eat meat, and the server was glad to give us extra beans and rice to compensate for the roasted chicken. Then we went ziplining, where we stood in a long, slow moving line. It was interesting just being in the rain forest and talking with others in line with us, but this is where I felt I was in an American amusement. Once we got to the first cable, it was over quick - zoom, zoom, zoom! Then we were on to cave tubing. It was also quite congested in the cave - we were broken down into groups of 8, and it was difficult to hear our soft-spoken leader over some of the other louder leaders who floated nearby. Someone made our picture as we entered the water, but I never figured out how to see the photo, much less purchase it. Both experiences were awesome, and I don't really know how they could improve on them unless they limited the number of folks coming through, but if you don't like crowds or long lines, this excursion may not be for you. The bus ride there and back was very educational. Ivor was an excellent guide. I would love to go back to Belize and try some of the less-popular excursions.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Friends
Cruise Date Month: March
Cruise Date Year: 2015
Favorite activities: Adventure
Favorite port: Roatan, Honduras
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:March 9, 2015
Wasn't too into this one!
My friend and I are both 23 years old and were not too impressed with this excursion. You have to take an hour and a half bus ride to the place (which isnt too bad on the way there because the tour guide entertains the entire trip). Our tour guides were Big Bruce and Edward. They kept us laughing the entire time. Once we got to the place, we ziplined first. You go through a 10 minute instruction period and then ride about 5 different ziplines. After that, we walked almost a mile to the cave entrance (Keep in mind: I am 23 and in shape and STILL died on this walk because you have to carry your own tube the entire way). Once we got into the cave, we could not hear our instructor due to his monotone voice. So, we definitely did not get to hear anything about the history inside the cave. It was also quite cold inside the cave. The water was freezing but felt good after the long and tiring walk. I had a tank top and shorts on and was quite uncomfortable with the temperature of the air in the cave (would recommend a thin, long-sleeved t-shirt if you are cold blooded). Once we completed the cave tubing, we got to eat, which was quite tasty. The alcohol was not free but the Pina Colada we had was amazing. They also allow you to bring your food and drinks onto the bus for the long ride back. Overall, I wouldn't choose to do this excursion again, but if you like a lot of moving around and new things, you might enjoy it.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2015
Highlight of cruise!
Had an awesome time on this tour! Elvis was amazing as a guide and his knowledge and passion made the long bus ride an integral part of the tour, rather than just a means of getting from point A to point B. I was traveling alone, but never felt like it. He kept everybody engaged and as a result, everyone interacted with each other far more than other tours I have taken. The zipline wasn't a huge rush for me (I'm a skydiver, so it was a little tame for me), but it was still fun. The rainforest itself, however, was magnificent. I took this cruise/tour in mid-December 2014. Had so much fun, I am doing it again next week...including this tour.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014
Amazing Tour
Firstly, be prepared to have this excursion take up your entire day. We left at 8:30 am and didn't get back until 4:15 pm, which was time to head back to the tender boats to leave. The bus ride is about an hour and 20 minutes in itself each way. The tour guide we had, Elvis, was wonderful and made the excursion priceless! He was extremely knowledgable about Belize and made us all feel so welcome! He was also extremely hilarious and genuine. The tour itself was pretty cool. The zip line was only 5 lines though, it says 7 here. They allow cameras so definitely make sure to bring it to record your fun! The cave tubing was awesome and definitely worth it, bring water shoes though otherwise you have to pay to rent them. Also, be prepared to pay for a locker rental once you get there. After the tour, we got a free lunch and it was absolutely delicious! They also have drinks available for purchase and other food as well. Definitely try Belizian beer! I would definitely do this tour again if it didn't take a whole day and 3 hours in a bus.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington, D.C., DC, USA
Party size: 2
I traveled with: Family
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Relaxing
Favorite port: Belize City, Belize
I want to go here next: Bahamas and Florida
Date:December 1, 2014
Best excursion of our cruise.
Elvis and his team of tour guides were amazing. They made the long drive from port to the site fun, entertaining, and educational. I learned so much more about Belize than I ever expected to. It was a personal tour with heart.
The activities were great and well paced. I'm visually impaired so the dark cave presented some challenges but the guides were so helpful with everyone who needed an extra hand. And zip-lining was the rush of a lifetime. Also, the lunch was the best meal we ate all cruise! Would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone going to Belize.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Party size: 1
I traveled with: Other
Cruise Date Month: November
Cruise Date Year: 2014
Favorite activities: Adventure
I want to go here next: Alaska
Date:November 18, 2014
Zipline Adventure and Cave Tubing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Guides Edmund and Alio on the bus provided local information along the way and kept the cats herded. River guide Andy loved the cave and the river and his job and it showed. Be aware that a shore excursion limits your time and so you won't get to do as long a time in the river as non-cruise visitors get to do. Equipment and practices rival stateside zip-tours I've done. Lunch was more than ample. Do taste the wines. Don't expect to love them. Bus got a flat on the way back, Got transferred to another bus from a partner attraction with time to shop and tender back to the ship (not even on the last tender).
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zipline Adventure & Cave Tubing
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Fun: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventurous: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Family Oriented: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cultural/Educational: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5